The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Empty space in account name

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by earthrat, Mar 30, 2016.

  1. earthrat

    earthrat Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bend, OR
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have an account that was created and for some reason when the account name was created an empty space was added at the end. Not sure why cPanel allows this and why this empty space was not stripped before the account was created but the damage is done and now the website is having issue with this.

    Is there a way to change the account name and remove this empty space?

    Here is the account name as it is recorded in WHM
    (mjcksn )
    Here is how it should be recorded
    (mjcksn)
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm unable to create an account with a space in it. The system even errors on this, won't save on Create Account.

    You might try modifying the username from here:
    Home »Account Functions »Modify an Account
     
  3. earthrat

    earthrat Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bend, OR
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I can confirm the same results, I tried a few times to create an account with a space and was unable to. There must be some other issue with this account that I have not discovered. I will investigate and report back if I discover anything.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    One option to consider is to try backing up the account:

    Code:
    /scripts/pkgacct $username
    Ensure all of your data is backed up successfully (you may want to manually extract the archive in this case just to be safe) and the archive is stored outside of the account's home directory. Then, terminate the account so you can restore it from the backup archive with the correct username:

    Code:
    /scripts/restorepkg --newuser=username /path/to/cpmove-username.tar.gz
    Thank you.
     
  5. earthrat

    earthrat Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bend, OR
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That is an excellent idea cPanelMichael, I may give that a go if I find I am having issues with anything else on the site.
     
Loading...

Share This Page