The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

enable ssh for domain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by carpman, Oct 24, 2001.

  1. carpman

    carpman Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello, i have a client who now need ssh access, i cannot find where to enable this, i have looked in modify account but it is not there.
     
  2. WeinBar

    WeinBar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    chsh username
     
  3. teck

    teck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Or edit passwd and change his shell.
     
  4. carpman

    carpman Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    tried chsh, no joy.

    What do you mean by change password? in WHM it does not give option to change shell access.
     
  5. WeinBar

    WeinBar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    [quote:45c5f32a16]tried chsh, no joy.

    What do you mean by change password? in WHM it does not give option to change shell access. [/quote:45c5f32a16]

    Why no joy? That is how to change access (of course, you need to specify the shell)

    If your username is \"john\" then issue (as root):

    chsh -s /bin/bash john
     
  6. carpman

    carpman Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thankd that worked, still learning linux, but getting betting all the time :)

    People like you certainly help, and what i learn i will try and pass on to others.
     
Loading...

Share This Page