Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Enable TLS 1.2 on cPanel

Discussion in 'Security' started by DPNmw, Apr 11, 2017.

Tags:
  1. DPNmw

    DPNmw Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I would like to know if it's possible to enable tsl 1.2 support on my cpanel server and if yes where can I go to find information on that as I've been searching and can't find a direct up to date answer.

    I currently have a cloud vps with
    • CENTOS 6.9 x86_64 kvm
    • WHM 62.0 (build 20)

    • Easy Apache 4 (Apache 2.4, PHP 5.5, PHP 5.6, and PHP 7.0 )
     
    #1 DPNmw, Apr 11, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 11, 2017
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. DPNmw

    DPNmw Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Unfortunately no, I need to know how to enable the TLS 1.2 and not conflict with cpanel.

    That reference document only explains the difference in tls and services impacted.

    Is there any document that you can link me to that will guide the change from 1.1 to 1.2 without breaking or conflicting with anything
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Could you provide some more background on what's leading to issues with TLS 1.2 so we can offer more concise instructions? For instance, is this for Apache, or another service (e.g. FTP, cpsrvd)? Is it related to a PCI compliance scan?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. WorkinOnIt

    WorkinOnIt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello - I also have this issue. How can I check if TLS 1.2 is possible / enabled on the cpanel server?

    The reason for doing this is PCI compliance. PayPal are mandating that all HTTPS traffic for e.g. IPN etc, must be TLS 1.2
    Date Change for Migrating from SSL and Early TLS
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Support for TLS 1.2 connections is enabled by default with the OpenSSL package available in CentOS 6 or newer. If you are still using CentoS 5 (it's at end-of-life status), then the you'd need to use a manual workaround like the one referenced on the following thread:

    Update cPanel to TLS 1.2 without modifying system files [php5 + curlssl + apache2.4.x]

    The current plan is to automatically set TLS defaults to be suitable for TLS 1.2 only starting in cPanel version 68, however you can manually configure this now by following the instructions on the thread below:

    I need to disable TLS v1.0

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. WorkinOnIt

    WorkinOnIt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Great thanks. I was able to see it listed in phpinfo also.
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice