The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Enabling browser caching

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by meldroz, May 31, 2012.

1. meldroz

meldroz Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

I'm new to Cpanel and server administration in general. I need to enable client caching because of i have a lot of static images that i will probably never change. I looked online and there seem to be different way of doing this.
    I'm running cpanel and easyapache install.

Thank you,

Mel

2. Infopro

Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Unless a user specifically has caching in their browser disabled, they should be already.

3. Chris.Bshm

Chris.Bshm Member

Hello,

It seems you may be wanting to discuss server side caching for Apache. These options would include eAccelerator, XCache, etc. There are a few downsides with installing these, ex:

eAccelerator:
    Generates cached files in /tmp - depending on the size of your /tmp directory this can become full causing services like MySQL to fail.
    Additional CPU Usage to generate cache pages.

Also, eAccelerator is not compatible with PHP Handlers like SuPHP which is installed by default. This however can be changed in WHM >> Configure PHP & SuEXEC; additionally, eAccelerator can be installed via WHM >> EasyApache >> Exhaustive Options List

https://eaccelerator.net/

4. cPanelTristan

cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator