Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SOLVED Enabling IPv6 support on subdomains?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by bouvrie, Aug 31, 2017.

Tags:
  1. bouvrie

    bouvrie Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    58
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Via Home >> IP Functions >> Assign IPv6 Address I can assign IPv6 addresses to acounts on the server. However, examining the related /var/cpanel/userdata/username/cache.json files, makes me think that the IPv6 address is only applied to the 'main' domain, and not to subdomains.

    Here's an example of such a cache file:
    Code:
    { 
       "parkeddomain.example":[ 
          "username",
          "root",
          "parked",
          "parkeddomain.example",
          "/home/username/public_html",
          "{IPv4-address}:80",
          "{IPv4-address}:443",
          "",
          "0",
          "ea-php70"
       ],
       "subdomain.domain.example":[ 
          "username",
          "root",
          "sub",
          "subdomain.domain.example",
          "/home/username/public_html/sub",
          "{IPv4-address}:80",
          "",
          "",
          "0",
          "ea-php70"
       ],
       "domain.example":[ 
          "username",
          "root",
          "main",
          "domain.example",
          "/home/username/public_html",
          "{IPv4-address}:80",
          "{IPv4-address}:443",
          "{IPv6-address}",
          "0",
          "ea-php70"
       ]
    }
    I redacted the addresses, but notice that only the "main" domain.example has an IPv6-address mentioned, while others have an empty string there.

    Does this mean the subdomains are NOT IPv6-ready? Or does the server only use the one in the 'main' account entry, for all subdomains/parked domains too?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,165
    Likes Received:
    1,371
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I tested this by assigning an IPv6 address to an account with multiple subdomains, and confirmed the subdomains were properly assigned the IPv6 address (the appropriate entries existed in the Apache configuration file and the DNS zone). I also confirmed that new subdomains added to the account are properly assigned the IPv6 address. The userdata entry you are looking for is in /var/cpanel/userdata/$username/$sub.domain.tld. EX:

    Code:
    ipv6:
      2001:0db8:1a34:56cf:0000:0000:0000:0000:
        dedicated: 1
    Thank you.
     
  3. bouvrie

    bouvrie Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    58
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks! Was worried a bit there... ;)
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page