Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Enabling mod_dumpio logging

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GuruDavid, Apr 9, 2015.

  1. GuruDavid

    GuruDavid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have a similar issue to what was referenced in this ancient article, however I didn't want to bump the old post, nor did I see a real answer to the issue.

    I've successfully enabled mod_dumpio in Apache, as seen here:
    --
    Code:
        # httpd -M |grep dump
        dumpio_module (static)
        
         # httpd -L |grep Dump
         DumpIOInput (mod_dumpio.c)
             Enable I/O Dump on Input Data
        DumpIOOutput (mod_dumpio.c)
            Enable I/O Dump on Output Data
    
    --

    I've also tried numerous configuration options referenced from Apache''s official mod_dumpio documentation. None of which have produced logs (detailed any more than originally) (that I was able to find) of POST requests received by Apache.

    Example of same typical log:
    --
    Code:
        ##.##.###.## - - [09/Apr/2015:12:24:32 -0500] "POST /index.php?/Core HTTP/1.1" 200 204 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/43.0.2334.0 Safari/537.36"
        ##.##.###.## - - [09/Apr/2015:12:25:05 -0500] "POST /index.php?/Core HTTP/1.1" 200 205 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/43.0.2334.0 Safari/537.36"
    
    --

    Any thoughts, help or input on this would be much appreciated.
     
  2. GuruDavid

    GuruDavid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Actually, got the results that I wanted/need by using mod_sec instead.

    Enabled these:
    --
    Code:
        SecDebugLogLevel 6
        SecRequestBodyAccess On
    
    --

    I was able to see POST bodies.
     
    madmanmachines likes this.
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    I am happy to see you were able to address the issue. Thank you for updating us with the outcome.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice