The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ensim Pro to cPanel questions

Discussion in 'Migrate to cPanel' started by alexf1852, Apr 5, 2011.

  1. alexf1852

    alexf1852 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Couldn't seem to find this info...

    Are MySQL databases automatically migrated when using the cPanel transfer feature?
    Are sendmail maiboxes and user credentials migrated as well? If so, where does the new mailbox file reside for a particular user on a cPanel box?
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello alexf1852,

    MySQL databases, email accounts and user credentials are migrated with an Ensim to cPanel transfer, although I would suggest having database prefixing shut off for a system that is being migrated from Ensim to ensure the database names remain the same without having to change the MySQL connection details. You can turn of database prefixing in WHM > Disable Database Prefix area.

    The new mailboxes for users will be located at /home/username/mail/domain.com/emailuser location where username is the cPanel username, domain.com is the domain name, and emailuser is the email username (without the @domain.com part after it).

    Please note that we would be happy to discuss a migration with you via our ticketing system by submitting a ticket using the link in my signature.
     
  3. alexf1852

    alexf1852 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I managed to migrate one account as a test. Everything seemed to go well. The first doesn't have a MySQL database. But some of the other sites do have a MySQL database that has a prefix already on it: domain_com_wordpress for example. What does cPanel do in this instance if I leave database prefix enabled? Does it keep "domain_com_wordpress"? If not, what would the new database name be?
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We actually have a few cases (47232 being one of the primary ones) set to be released where it will migrate the database regardless, and those might be releasing today or this week, which would make the database prefixing issue moot for needing to switch prefixing off.

    What would happen otherwise would be the database name (if prefixing is enabled) would have cPanelusername_databasename, and the database name with the cPanel username cannot exceed 16 characters. You could always test transfer one of the accounts (and then terminate the account after transferring it on the cPanel machine) to see what occurs. Otherwise, you may want to simply migrate the non-database accounts and transfer those with MySQL databases at the end of the week or beginning of next week.
     
  5. alexf1852

    alexf1852 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Will the new updates be automatically applied to cPanel? Or do I have to manually update?
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    They will be automatically updated provided you have cPanel set to automatic updates in WHM > Update Preferences area. You can review the changelog at Change Logs to see when these are put into production, or simply open up a ticket or reply on this forum thread to ask for an update.

    I had previously noted about it being tier-based, but pkgacct is the same for all tiers so once the case is pushed into public builds, then your machine would get it on automatic cPanel updates.
     
  7. alexf1852

    alexf1852 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What setting do I need to have for cPanel updates in order to manually update to 11.29.0.13?
     
  8. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    11.29 is currently only available in the EDGE tier. The version numbers associated with each update tier are posted at Downloads - cPanel Inc. . To update to EDGE, select EDGE in the WebHost Manager in Main >> Server Configuration >> Update Preferences. After making this selection in the WebHost Manager, run the following command from the shell as root to start the update:

    Code:
    # /scripts/upcp --force
    I would like to caution all readers that EDGE should only be selected if you need a specific bug fix or feature that is only available in that tier. EDGE has received little or no real-world testing and should be considered experimental. If you do not have an urgent need for a specific bug fix or feature that is only available in EDGE, we strongly advise waiting until that bug fix or feature is available in the CURRENT or RELEASE tier.
     
  9. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As an added warning, we changed a lot of the back-end in 11.29 in anticipation for 11.30. While we are confident in our work, keep in mind that 11.29 is the first time those changes are being widely deployed in production environments. If you have moved to EDGE in the past and thought it was no big deal, this time around I recommend taking extra caution.

    If you want to run EDGE on a non-production server, we welcome any feedback anyone has about EDGE via our EDGE-users list. You can submit a request to be invited to EDGE-Users at Edge-Users Info Page - all you need is a cPanel&WHM server running EDGE to have your invitation approved.
     
  10. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Case 47232 is resolved in version 11.30. To see if 11.30 has reached your update tier yet, visit Downloads - cPanel Inc.
     
Loading...

Share This Page