Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Entries in Log File Questions

Discussion in 'Security' started by sido, Sep 16, 2018.

1. sido

sido Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi,

My first time posting here, thank you in advance for your service ...

I'm running a small online business, and among other tasks I administer detected server , but I am not really a professional webmaster. I hope someone here can give me some sort of direction of how to handle this case.

since a few days I received an email indicates that someone has entered my server .

A quick look at the server stats revealed that someone had broken into the cPanel with the root (!)

I checked his trace here is what I found : " check file please "

[removed by moderator - please replace real domain names and IP addresses with examples when pasting log output]

....... check file please

I want to know what he did ? is this dangerous ???

THank you in advance

#1 sido, Sep 16, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 17, 2018
  2. cPanelMichael

cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @sido,

The log output was moderated because it included real domain names and IP addresses. Feel free to post the output again in CODE tags, but ensure to replace any real domain names or IP addresses with examples.

Additionally, the following document is a good place to start when understanding how to approach a potentially hacked server:

Why can't I clean a hacked machine - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation

Thank you.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. sido

sido Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    H

I upload the file again, please check