The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

EntropyBanner

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by chakky, Dec 21, 2002.

  1. chakky

    chakky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    Anyone know what all I should do to the server to get entropybanner to work.
    It just doesnot seem to work.

    In httpd.conf,the virtual host entry in the server,
    I gave the entry

    &Directory '/home/user/'&
    Options +Includes +ExecCGI
    &/Directory&

    Then I restarted httpd, called the SSI line
    in a test.shtml
    &!--#exec cmd=&/usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/entropybanner.cgi user&--&

    All client side setup was correct.

    Any solution to this?
     
  2. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    [quote:c5ce273067][i:c5ce273067]Originally posted by chakky[/i:c5ce273067]

    Hi,

    Anyone know what all I should do to the server to get entropybanner to work.
    It just doesnot seem to work.

    In httpd.conf,the virtual host entry in the server,
    I gave the entry

    &Directory '/home/user/'&
    Options +Includes +ExecCGI
    &/Directory&

    Then I restarted httpd, called the SSI line
    in a test.shtml
    &!--#exec cmd=&/usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/entropybanner.cgi user&--&

    All client side setup was correct.

    Any solution to this?


    [/quote:c5ce273067]

    Change your include to
    &!--#exec cmd=&/cgi-sys/entropybanner.cgi user&--&

    That should do it.
     
  3. chakky

    chakky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Nope it does not seem to enable it..:(
    Any other options..
     
  4. shann

    shann Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    try this

    Hi,

    open up a .htaccess file and place follwing lines.

    Options +Includes
    XBitHack on


    then make your xx.shtml to excutable.

    chmod +x xxx.shtml.

    hope it helps.

    Thansk
    Shann
     
  5. chakky

    chakky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hey Thanks,

    I have all the settings made as you both have stated and it seems to show a the entropy banner to work.

    :)..Thanks a lot...:)
     
  6. Doctor

    Doctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just do the following:

    cd /home/username/public_html/cgi-bin

    cp /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/entropybanner.cgi entropybanner.cgi

    Then, use <!--#exec cmd="cgi-bin/entropybanner.cgi"--> in your .shtml pages that you want the banner to display.

    The problem is after the upgrade, CPanel no longer copies entropybanner.cgi to the user's cgi-bin. And because of suexec, calling entropybanner.cgi from /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/ won't work. The same solution should apply to randhtml.cgi if any of you happens to have a problem displaying your random codes.
     
  7. anton_latvia

    anton_latvia Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Latvia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Doctor, may you could help me with this script?..
    In .shtml file customer has the following line:
    <!--#exec cmd="cgi-bin/entropybanner.cgi"-->

    But it does not work. In HTML source I can clearly see this line without changes, just as simple HTML. I have checked SSI with <!--#include file="test.txt"--> and it worked. Also entropybanner.cgi exists in /home/userdir/www/cgi-bin/ and it is writeable and belongs to the user.user group.

    If I look in /usr/local/apache/logs/suexec_log I can see the following line:

    [2005-01-03 11:10:17]: info: (target/actual) uid: (vaulenil/vaulenil) gid: (vaulenil/vaulenil) cmd: cgi-bin/entropybanner.cgi

    Any ideas why it does not work?

    ADDED: if I try just simple to run it from commandline as root I get the following error:
    -bash: cgi-bin/entropybanner.cgi: /usr/libexec/ld-elf.so.1: bad ELF interpreter: No such file or directory

    Could that be a reason? How to solve it?
     
    #7 anton_latvia, Jan 3, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2005
  8. anton_latvia

    anton_latvia Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Latvia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Problem has been solved by copying new copy of entropybanner.cgi from /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/ to the user's directory.. :)
     
  9. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    aren't those cgi scripts outdated and vulnerable?
     
  10. t9clkclnr

    t9clkclnr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Southern California
    another problem you may encounter

    I have users who like to try and code in PHP and have set handlers for php as shtml extensions in their htaccess file.

    This will cause entropy to also not work
    checking this in addition to this:

    fixes it everytime for me.
     
  11. micromag

    micromag Registered

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    entropyBanner is not working for us also: blank screen.

    Our service provider told us that this is due a CPANEL problem (nightly automatic update)

    and they can not do nothing due this is a CPANEL issue.

    this makes sense?

    Thanks.
     
  12. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    No, that makes no sense at all. If they have a problem they should log it with cPanel for a fix.
     
  13. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,381
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just out of curiousity, are you using a page in your public_html directory that makes SSI calls to the entropybanner.cgi script or is the page in a subdirectory, beneath your public_html?
     
  14. neo32

    neo32 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hello,

    If you have tried copying the entropybanner.cgi from usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys

    cp /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/entropybanner.cgi entropybanner.cgi

    and still that doesnt resolve the situation, then please try changing the ownership of pulic_html folder from user.nobody to user.user this resolved the same situiation once at our end.

    Regards,
    Neo32
     
  15. testlog_4u

    testlog_4u Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have copied it but no luck..:(

    I am facing the same issue while accessing index.shtml page

    Error : Could not chdir into /home/user/public_html/../.entropybanner/:
     
  16. masterthor

    masterthor Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    any updates on this? it's still happening :(
     
  17. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please submit a support ticket if you are continuing to experience issues with EntropyBanner bundled with cPanel/WHM.
     
  18. nzservers

    nzservers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    use <!--#exec cgi="cgi-bin/entropybanner.cgi"-->

    not <!--#exec cmd="cgi-bin/entropybanner.cgi"-->
     

Share This Page