The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ergent! Help Please...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by keir, Jul 6, 2006.

  1. keir

    keir Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey all, I need to release my hosting conpany very, very soon and the only diffecultly im facing is that I can not make sub-domains (user.host.com) for my users when creating a new account. This is a very important issue that I need to resolve.

    I do not want to have to be stuck with the whole "host.com/~user"

    Please could you find time to help me out, thanks. :)
     
  2. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    When creating an account, simply specify the account's domain name as sub.example.com.

    Have you tried this? If so, what errors do you encounter?
     
  3. keir

    keir Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes I have tryed this, however when I type this into the address bar, it comes up "page not found". the "host.com/~user" works tho!?!?!

    Any ideas?
     
  4. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    If the account is created fine then that's the first step done.

    You might need to wait some time for the new DNS zone to propagate (about 48-72 hours maybe).

    If you've already waited this long, check for DNS-related errors at http://www.dnsreport.com/
     
  5. keir

    keir Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  6. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I actually meant that you should perform a DNS report on one of the subdomains you are using to create an account as it was these with which you were experiencing problems.

    The only error for task29.com is that is has no MX record, which is a little odd.

    When a domain is added through cPanel, the DNS zone, with all the necessary details, is built for it automatically and so such a domain shouldn't be missing it's MX record.

    Has trust29.com been added as an account on your server?
    Have you deleted the MX record?
    What is the history of trust29.com? You've clearly missed an important step somewhere!
     
Loading...

Share This Page