The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

error 28 from storage engine

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JSBurlison, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. JSBurlison

    JSBurlison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    MySQL Error : Got error 28 from storage engine
    Error Number : 1030

    via cpanel how can i figure out what device is full. I am a novice, I think I am on my own on going in to fix this.

    The host rebooted my server thinking this was a memory full problem. What I look up shows that this is a disk full error.

    They told me the disk was empty? That doen't sound right either, if the disk was empty there would be no site?

    The site is there, I just turned it off.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Do you have WHM/root access to this server?
     
  3. JSBurlison

    JSBurlison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    yes,

    I am willing to give anything a try that doesn't destory my forum. :)
     
    #3 JSBurlison, Dec 7, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2011
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please provide the following in root SSH:

    Code:
    df -kh
    df -i
    free -m
    Also, what is the full error message? That is only part of the error message. Next, where are you seeing the error message? Finally, is this impacting only one site or all sites on the machine?
     
  5. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In WHM go to:
    Server Status -> Server Information-> Current Disk Usage
    there you see if any partition is full.
     
  6. JSBurlison

    JSBurlison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I got the host to go look at it now. They just asked me from my WHM password. Since I am assuming they are logged in now I will look at the things you suggested as a learning experience if they get the problem fixed and will look at it to try and fix the problem if they fail.

    I am a little confused. If an error 28 is a disk full error why would they have thought that rebooting might help? Maybe there is something I am missing. I am a novice after all.
     
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can you provide the full error message? I really am unable to comment without seeing the full message, and without knowing if this was impacting all sites or just one site. Also, we need to know where you saw the error message (browser, error log for PHP or Apache, or MySQL error log).
     
  8. JSBurlison

    JSBurlison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The error messages are being emailed to me. Here is one of the messages.

    Database error in vBulletin 4.0.6:

    Invalid SQL:
    SELECT SQL_CALC_FOUND_ROWS node.nodeid AS itemid ,(node.nodeleft = 1) AS isroot, node.nodeid, node.contenttypeid, node.contentid, node.url, node.parentnode, node.styleid, node.userid,
    node.layoutid, node.publishdate, node.setpublish, node.issection, parent.permissionsfrom as parentpermissions,
    node.showrating,
    node.permissionsfrom, node.publicpreview, node.shownav, node.hidden, node.nosearch , info.description, info.title, info.viewcount, info.creationdate, info.workflowdate,
    info.workflowstatus, info.workflowcheckedout, info.workflowlevelid, info.associatedthreadid,
    user.username, sectionorder.displayorder


    FROM vb4_cms_node AS node
    INNER JOIN vb4_cms_nodeinfo AS info ON info.nodeid = node.nodeid
    LEFT JOIN vb4_user AS user ON user.userid = node.userid
    LEFT JOIN vb4_cms_sectionorder AS sectionorder ON sectionorder.sectionid = node.parentnode
    AND sectionorder.nodeid = node.nodeid
    LEFT JOIN vb4_cms_node AS parent ON parent.nodeid = node.parentnode

    WHERE node.new != 1 AND node.nodeid IN (1,45,5,11,2,3) AND ( (node.permissionsfrom IN (-1)) OR (node.userid =36743) OR ( node.permissionsfrom in (1) AND (node.parentnode IN (1,116,151) OR node.nodeid = 1) AND
    node.setpublish > 0 AND node.publishdate < 1323265925 ))AND node.new != 1

    ORDER BY CASE WHEN sectionorder.displayorder > 0 THEN sectionorder.displayorder ELSE 9999999 END ASC,
    node.publishdate DESC;

    MySQL Error : Got error 28 from storage engine
    Error Number : 1030
    Request Date : Wednesday, December 7th 2011 @ 08:52:05 AM
    Error Date : Wednesday, December 7th 2011 @ 08:52:05 AM
    Script : edcforums.com
    Referrer :
    IP Address : 65.242.175.130
    Username : Buck1969
    Classname : vB_Database
    MySQL Version :
     
  9. JSBurlison

    JSBurlison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am guessing someone will ask why I am not on the latest version, I am moving to XenForo soon.
     
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  11. JSBurlison

    JSBurlison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    From talking to the host It looks like I am on my own. I will follow the directions above and see if I can find what I need to clean this up.
     
    #11 JSBurlison, Dec 7, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2011
  12. JSBurlison

    JSBurlison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    what do I do with df -kh df -i free -m
     
  13. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You run them in root SSH as I indicated and post the output you receive here.
     
  14. JSBurlison

    JSBurlison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/mapper/VolGroup00-LogVol00 37G 29G 6.9G 81% /
    /dev/xvda1 99M 27M 68M 29% /boot
    tmpfs 1.0G 0 1.0G 0% /dev/shm
    /usr/tmpDSK 485M 11M 449M 3% /tmp
     
  15. JSBurlison

    JSBurlison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I got this from the host and now sure what to do with this information.

    Mail almost 2 GB
    public_html 3.5GB (don't know what you can clean there, you have to check)
    Mysql 3 GB , do you need all those databases?

    this are just a few. There maybe old back ups, statistics, etc. that you don't need.
     
  16. JSBurlison

    JSBurlison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am googling root ssh to see how to do this.
     
  17. JSBurlison

    JSBurlison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    In the menu to the left I have found

    Manage root’s SSH Keys I don't think that one is the right place.

    SSH Password Authorization doesn't sound right to me either.

    SSH Server (OpenSSH) This is under restart services.

    I am not seeing SSH anyplace else?


    I think what ever information people give me I am going to need to learn how to navagate WHM
     
  18. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You need to download an SSH client like Putty at PuTTY Download Page location if you are on Windows, or go to Finder > Terminal in Mac OS X to connect to SSH on your server. You cannot use WHM to do this. After you have the SSH client, then you will log in as the root user to your server's IP, and use the root password to access the machine when it prompts for the password.

    I highly suggest asking your hosting provider if you have any issues with figuring out how to log into SSH.
     
  19. JSBurlison

    JSBurlison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    On it being a vB issue, this is what vB support says.

    Error code 28: No space left on device

    One or more partitions on your server is out of space or doesn't have enough space to complete this operation. Shutdown your forums and contact your host immediately. You or your host will need to find out which partition is low on space and free up some more space.

    I found where someone said, I will see if I can find this directory. I am not sure if it is ok to just delete the contents.

    99.99% is because of the /tmp directory is full, so if anyone ever faces this, this is the cause! I just found out that's what our problem was today.
     
  20. JSBurlison

    JSBurlison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have a full service dedicated server account but I think that I am on my own. I will send them what you posted and see what they say.

    EDIT:

    I have send off the information you have given me to the hosting company.
     
    #20 JSBurlison, Dec 7, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2011
Loading...

Share This Page