The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Error 404 while fetching url http://updates.cpanel.net//pub/sysup/6.2//.updates

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bmcpanel, Mar 10, 2004.

  1. bmcpanel

    bmcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    WHM 9.1.0 cPanel 9.1.0-E10
    RedHat 6.2 - WHM X v2.1.2

    Anyone know why I a getting this error while attempting to update CPanel to latest build? It happens any time I try to update regardless if I update to edge, stable or release.

    Error 404 while fetching url http://updates.cpanel.net//pub/sysup/6.2//.updates

    When I type the above URL in a browser, it works fine. Anyone have a clue?
     
  2. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Are there even software updates available for redhat 6.2 ? Maybe turn off software & security updates in update config and try again?
     
  3. bmcpanel

    bmcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah, it's old as hell. But, has worked fine until today. Problem is, I had it on manual updates and then, today, found out that sites could not be connected to via http, even though http is running. It seems there is a problem with dns, as even nslookup to any domain name will give an error.

    ------------
    [#shell] nslookup somedomain.com

    ;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached
    ------------

    The only change I made was that I downgraded last night, to Mysql version 3 via WHM. The downgrade seemed to work fine. Then, today, got a call from a customer saying their site was down. Checked on it and damn, all sites were down. I then tried to login to ssh via a domain name and got nothing. Tried ssh via IP, and got in fine. Realized it was either http or named. Have concluded that it is name.

    However, when I attempt to update CPanel or backend software or even MySQL, I get errors that the server cannot connect to http://layer2.cpanel.net (could not find hostname).

    So, the dns is hosed, I guess for some unknown reason. Now, I can't make any manual updates as it throws errors because it can't connect to the domain names.

    /etc/resolv.conf is setup as it always has been.
    /var/named has all sites listed as it always has
    httpd.conf is working fine and rebooting httpd.conf works fine
    rebooting bind gives a success message though, in services, it shows a red blinking error icon.

    Can anyone help out with this. I have been using Cpanel for nearly 3 years, and I have never ran across this issue before.
    :confused:
     
  4. bmcpanel

    bmcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Here is what it looks like when I try to upgrade....

    ---------------------------
    PHP version file is up to date
    Doing a manual update...
    Cpanel updates are coming from layer2.cpanel.net
    Changing password for user daemon
    Locking password for user daemon
    Error 404 while fetching url http://updates.cpanel.net//pub/hackcheck/redhat/6.2/hackcheck.db
    SENT ipcheck email
    send to CONTACTEMAIL (3) [2]
    skip CONTACTUIN (1) [2]
    --------------------------------

    Or when I try "/scripts/updatenow"

    -------------------------------
    [root@ns /scripts]# ./updatenow
    unknown host: rsync.cpanel.net

    ---------------------------------\

    Note, anything that is attempted to download via a URL, will not download! Thus, whatever is broken, I am unable to fix. Aaaaaargh!!
     
  5. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    tail -f /var/log/messages and restart bind from WHM. Look for errors and make sure your SSH window can scroll up cuz it may be a rather long list.
     
  6. bmcpanel

    bmcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Dude, thank you so much. Yes, your suggestion was obvious, but I was looking elsewhere for the problem. It turns out, some dip-shit reseller added a domain which was typed incorrectly and named was failing when it tried to load it.

    The domain was type in like ".domainname.com". Note the "." at the beginning.

    That simple little mistake brought the whole freaking server down! Unbelieveable.

    Thanks again for the help you provided in this thread.
     
    #6 bmcpanel, Mar 10, 2004
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2004
  7. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    No worries, glad to hear you got it resolved.
     
  8. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You won't be able to do that once the new dns system is the default :) Right now it only uses the new dns system for local updates if you have clustering on. That changes with the next edge update though.
     
Loading...

Share This Page