Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Error 500 is not being logged

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rudolfl, Jun 15, 2019.

  1. rudolfl

    rudolfl Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi all,

    I am trying to fix error 500 that appears on some pages in my Wordpress site.
    - Wordpress debug log does not log this error (logs all other relevant activity, though)
    - /home/<user>/logs/<domain>.ftp.log doe snot log this error
    /var/log/apache/error_log -- does not log this error
    No local error_log files generated

    Where else can it be?
    Using PHP-FPM handler with PHP 7.3

    Thanks,
    Rudolf
     
  2. SS-Maddy

    SS-Maddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Rudolf,

    From your message, I believe it could be because of a plugin or a script running on those pages alone ? Did you explore that possibility ? I understand the situation and we had a couple of similar cases, but following the options and tips mentioned in the Wordpress KB , especially the SCRIPT_DEBUG helped. - Debugging in WordPress | WordPress.org
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. rudolfl

    rudolfl Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,
    It is most likely a plugin causing this. Page is a generic one from Wordpress (custom post creation), but one of the plugins is likely to act on it. As this is a live site, I am a bit hesitant to start disabling plugins. I am trying to duplicate the site at the moment, so I will be able to do a bit of destructive testing.

    SCRIPT_DEBUG variable only really applies to debugging JS and CSS -- this one forces Wordpress to supply normal, non-compressed version of those scripts.

    Still not explaining why error does not appear in logs. I thought it should be reflected in one of the logs.

    Rudolf
     
  4. Neutrall

    Neutrall Active Member PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    On a scenario we've saw in the past, the culprit was the Apache LogLevel setting.

    Just in case, you can double check in your WHM (Apache configuration -> Global Configuration) and look at the LogLevel setting.

    Your should make sure the LogLevel is at "warn" so that most regular errors will be logged in "/usr/local/apache/logs/error_log" file.
     
  5. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,466
    Likes Received:
    505
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If you're running PHP-FPM you'll find that there is an error log for PHP-FPM in /home/user/logs/domain_tld.php.error.log
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice