Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Error 500 with nothing in the logs

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by Nicola Urbinati, Aug 7, 2018.

  1. Nicola Urbinati

    Nicola Urbinati Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I'm experiencing an Error 500 on my Joomla site (only by the frontend, the backend is working flawlessly).
    I do not find any errors anywhere I can get to:
    /home/user/logs (defaut for Easyapache right?)
    /public_html/logs (Joomla's own logs)
    cPanel/Errors.

    All other sites are working fine (both Joomla, Worpress, even a Dolibarr one)

    Is there any other place I can find logs?
    Anyone has any clue on this?

    Thanks.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Nicola Urbinati

    Nicola Urbinati Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well, it was apparently somethig about security, as it's working again now, without my intervention...
    Can some of cPanel/WHM security engines throw that behaviour on a site? Where can I look for the right incident?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Nicola Urbinati

    Nicola Urbinati Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok, found it: it was a low PHP memory_limit
    Having no tip from the logs caused me an headache ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,344
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @Nicola Urbinati,

    I'm glad to see you were able to determine the cause of the issue. Generally, PHP errors are logged to the error_log file located in the document root of the domain name that was accessed when the error was generated. Do you see an error_log file in the document root of the affected website? If not, can you verify which PHP handler is assigned to the domain?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Nicola Urbinati

    Nicola Urbinati Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The handler should be suPHP (7.2) with FPM (as noted in MultiPHP Manager, even if my other sources like the system information page in joomla say: Server API FPM/FastCGI, I think from phpinfo).

    In the directory root I have the logs directory, and in the file for that domain (domain_com.php.error.log) there was no hint at the incident, as I noted before.
    Nor I saw any line about it in the Errors page in cPanel.

    Thank you, I'm eager to help investigating if you need it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Nicola Urbinati

    Nicola Urbinati Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    PS: I noted now "PHP Handlers do not apply to PHP-FPM." So joomla is right: FastCGI/FPM.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,344
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @Nicola Urbinati,

    With PHP-FPM, the individual error log for PHP scripts is located in the following location:

    /home/username/logs/domain_com.php.error.log

    Are you sure that no entries exist at all in this log file at the times when the memory limit was reached?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Nicola Urbinati

    Nicola Urbinati Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That's exactly where I searched for hints, and found nothing.
    Might be Joomla thew the error before PHP could do it, but even Joomla logs were without lines about the incident.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,344
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @Nicola Urbinati,

    We're happy to take a closer look at your server to see why the PHP errors are not logged. You can open a support ticket and post the ticket number here.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Nicola Urbinati

    Nicola Urbinati Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ticket: 10082599
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Nicola Urbinati

    Nicola Urbinati Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry @cPanelMichael I must have problems opening the ticket: I have errror 500 on your store and ticket sites from Chrome, trying again from Mozilla (they're working from there)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Nicola Urbinati

    Nicola Urbinati Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ticket:
    10082823
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,344
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    To update, it looks like the global PHP-FPM error log for PHP version 7.2 was helpful for troubleshooting the specific error message:

    /opt/cpanel/ea-php72/root/usr/var/log/php-fpm/error.log

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice