Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Error adding alias

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Antonio Menendez, Apr 12, 2019.

  1. Antonio Menendez

    Antonio Menendez Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mexico
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hi all.

    I am adding alias to a domain, but cPanel returns an error in response, I will try to explain it briefly.

    I have the domain.com.mx domain and this I am adding an alias (domain. Is) and although I added the A records in the control panel of the registrant (and the domain already points to my server) cPanel returns this error:

    An error occurred when the system tried to create the alias. Park :: park failed: (XID 437tpn) We're sorry, the domain is already pointing to an IP address that apparently does not use DNS servers associated with this server. Transfer the domain to the name servers of this server or have your administrator add one of their name servers to /etc/ips.remotedns and make the appropriate A entries on that remote name server.

    Can you help me with this? It's the first time something like this has happened to me, I have about 15 aliases in different websites, and I had never given that error when adding them.

    I appreciate your attentions, greetings!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive! PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    In whm you need to enable remote domains in tweak settings. Then you can add a domain that resolves to a different ip of your server.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Antonio Menendez

    Antonio Menendez Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mexico
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Thank you very much for answering GOT.

    The option you mention is active in WHM but it still shows me the same error ... maybe it's something crazy, but it could be due to the geographical situation? I mean, I'm in Mexico, but the domain is .es (from Spain) ... could this be interfering?

    Thanks for your attention.
     
  4. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive! PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I don't think it has anything to do with geopoliticial circumstances.

    If your Allow Remote Domains is set to Yes, then I would have to suggest putting a ticket in as I would have no other guesses.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Antonio Menendez likes this.
  5. Antonio Menendez

    Antonio Menendez Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mexico
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Ok, I appreciate your help GOT, have a nice day.

    Greetings.
     
  6. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,468
    Likes Received:
    505
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The error very clearly states that the issue is because the DNS is associated with another server. This would indicate that Allow remote domains is in fact not enabled:

    WHM>>Server Configuration>>Tweak Settings::Allow Remote Domains
    Allow creation of parked/addon domains that resolve to other servers (e.g. domain transfers) This can be a major security problem. If you must have it enabled, be sure not to allow users to park common Internet domains.

    You may also want to check:

    Allow unregistered domains
    Allow creation of parked/addon domains that are not registered.


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Antonio Menendez likes this.
  7. Antonio Menendez

    Antonio Menendez Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mexico
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Thank you very much to both for your help.

    Greetings.
     
    cPanelLauren likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice