Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Error detected with pure-quotacheck for $user [/home/$domain/public_html/$userdir

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Gastón, Mar 1, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Gastón

    Gastón Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yesterday I upgraded CPANEL to v68.0.29 version and I think I hit an old bug or something.

    Everytime I create a FTP User (I try it in 3 different domains in the server) I receive the following error
    Error detected with pure-quotacheck for $user [/home/$domaindir/public_html/$userdir]: Unable to update the quota file (.ftpquota): [Permission denied]

    But the thing is that the quota IS working, I checked the /home/$domaindir/etc/ftpquota and the panel effectively changes the file values and the quota limit works.

    The only thing is that everytime the users creates an account or changes the quota, the CPanel shows the error and they report that to us.

    Is there a FIX for that or I am missing something in the configuration?

    Thank you, Sorry about my English.

    Regards

    Gastón.
     
    #1 Gastón, Mar 1, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 1, 2018
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,885
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    This is generally the result of invalid permissions configured on the "/" directory. Please let us know the output from the following commands:

    Code:
    stat /
    stat /etc
    stat /var
    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Gastón

    Gastón Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Thanks for the reply... there te results

    # stat /
    File: ‘/’
    Size: 4096 Blocks: 8 IO Block: 4096 directory
    Device: 802h/2050d Inode: 2 Links: 25
    Access: (0711/drwx--x--x) Uid: ( 0/ root) Gid: ( 0/ root)
    Context: system_u:eek:bject_r:root_t:s0
    Access: 2018-03-01 00:31:21.694332132 -0300
    Modify: 2018-03-01 00:30:29.658332829 -0300
    Change: 2018-03-01 00:30:29.658332829 -0300

    # stat /etc
    File: ‘/etc’
    Size: 12288 Blocks: 24 IO Block: 4096 directory
    Device: 802h/2050d Inode: 4718593 Links: 89
    Access: (0755/drwxr-xr-x) Uid: ( 0/ root) Gid: ( 0/ root)
    Context: system_u:eek:bject_r:etc_t:s0
    Access: 2018-03-01 13:06:55.607421404 -0300
    Modify: 2018-03-01 16:20:00.270266197 -0300
    Change: 2018-03-01 16:20:00.270266197 -0300
    Birth: -

    # stat /var
    File: ‘/var’
    Size: 4096 Blocks: 8 IO Block: 4096 directory
    Device: 802h/2050d Inode: 2883585 Links: 23
    Access: (0755/drwxr-xr-x) Uid: ( 0/ root) Gid: ( 0/ root)
    Context: system_u:eek:bject_r:var_t:s0
    Access: 2018-02-24 08:33:02.966638319 -0300
    Modify: 2018-03-01 00:31:01.144332407 -0300
    Change: 2018-03-01 00:31:01.144332407 -0300
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,885
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    0711 permissions are not standard for the "/" directory.You can update the permissions of that directory to 0755 to solve the issue.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Gastón likes this.
  5. Gastón

    Gastón Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The root should have 0555 permissions right ?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,885
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You can use 0555 permissions as well, yes.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice