Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Error during cpanel update, help needed

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by noexit, Sep 26, 2006.

  1. noexit

    noexit Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi everyone,

    can you please look at error I found during /scripts/upcp --force run:

    Doing a manual update...
    Cpanel updates are coming from layer2.cpanel.net
    "/scripts/.crontab":4: bad hour
    crontab: errors in crontab file, can't install
    pw: user 'daemon' is already locked
    Ftp Setup Script Version 6.0
    This is the pure-ftpd installer

    I have freebsd 5.4, cpanel running.

    Thanks.
     
  2. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Try renaming /scripts/.crontab and running /scripts/upcp --force again.

    If /scripts/.crontab is needed, it will surely be downloaded again and, perhaps, it will work.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. noexit

    noexit Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    /scripts/.crontab: No such file or directory
     
  4. MaraBlue

    MaraBlue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Carmichael, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Resolved!

    Hi,

    If you're still having this issue, I found (for me) it has nothing to do with any cPanel update. Check your crontab for blank lines inbetween the entries, using
    Code:
    crontab -e
    . Each entry needs to be on it's own line without wrapping.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. MaraBlue

    MaraBlue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Carmichael, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There is no "/scripts/.crontab." It's a crontab issue, not a upcp issue.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice