Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Error establishing a database connection

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Sidewinder, Sep 11, 2014.

  1. Sidewinder

    Sidewinder Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Had a couple of emails alerting me of the following for multiple accounts
    lfd on ****: Excessive resource usage: **** (18279 (Parent PID:14970))

    Resource: Virtual Memory Size
    Exceeded: 223 > 200 (MB)
    Executable: /usr/bin/php
    Command Line: /usr/bin/php /home/***/public_html/index.php
    PID: 18279 (Parent PID:14970)
    Killed: No

    Resource: Virtual Memory Size
    Exceeded: 207 > 200 (MB)
    Executable: /usr/bin/php
    Command Line: /usr/bin/php /home/***/public_html/wp-cron.php

    Loaded up a website and noticed "Error establishing a database connection" - checked other accounts and they had the same issue.

    I'm wondering if the above email alerts were related?

    Restarted MySQL and this was fixed.

    Plugins: Munin, CSF, Mod Security

    Also noticed Munin is showing mysql as red since I had installed it!
    2014091200493122.png
    I've looked through error_log and can't see anything glaringly obvious, so hoping perhaps somebody else has had the experience before I go checking every log file? :0
     
  2. server9host

    server9host Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Please check mysql service status if it's stop try to restart the service.

    Also check the memory status for server using command free -m
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Sidewinder

    Sidewinder Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hey,
    I actually re-installed WHM about 12 hours ago as I had changed A LOT of settings to try to get a high configserver & firewall security rating - I didn't make a note of what I had changed so opted for a fresh install and account restore.

    Unfortunately I'm still getting the following emails
    "lfd on <domain>: Excessive resource usage: <username>"

    MySQL hasn't crashed yet though.

     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,961
    Likes Received:
    1,821
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Is your server load high? You can review MySQL active processes with a command such as:

    Code:
    mysqladmin processlist
    Our "Optimization" forum may also be of help to you:

    cPanel Forums - Optimization

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice