Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

error for all subdomains after transfer

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by peter naijac, Jun 13, 2018.

  1. peter naijac

    peter naijac Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    lagos
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello,

    I've just moved some sites from one VPS to another ( WHM transfer tool ), all subdomains are not accessible now, I have an error like this on my browser:


    [Sat Jun 09 12:04:26.334808 2018] [core:crit] [pid 15524:tid 140087620773632] (13)Permission denied: [client xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:55251] AH00529: /home/xxx/subdomains/.htaccess pcfg_openfile: unable to check htaccess file, ensure it is readable and that '/home/xxx/subdomains/' is executable, referer: http://www.xxx.xxx.eu/
    [Sat Jun 09 12:04:25.736764 2018] [core:crit] [pid 15720:tid 140087536854784] (13)Permission denied: [client xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:50005] AH00529: /home/xxx/subdomains/.htaccess pcfg_openfile: unable to check htaccess file, ensure it is readable and that '/home/xxx/subdomains/' is executable
    I looked in /home/xxx/subdomains/ and I can`t see the .htaccess file ( it is not present olso in the old VPS and all subdomains were working)
     
    #1 peter naijac, Jun 13, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 13, 2018
  2. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    114
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    This actually isn't related to .htaccess but the permissions on

    /home/xxx/subdomains

    Code:
    chown xxx: /home/xxx/subdomains
    chmod 755 /home/xxx/subdomains
    This should fix you right up
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    114
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If you are having further permission like issues then run:

    Code:
    find /home/xxx/subdomains/ -type f -exec chmod 644 {} \;
    find /home/xxx/subdomains/ -type d -exec chmod 755 {} \;
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    HI @peter naijac

    I agree with @Jcats on this. This is almost always a permissions issue more than likely due to differences between the two servers configuration.

    Let us know if you have any issues with the advice provided and we'll do our best to help!


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice