The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Error for Create postgres databases

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by camposomar, Apr 15, 2009.

  1. camposomar

    camposomar Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Guadalajara
    Hi all

    i try create postgres databases after create not appear in box of databeses but not appear errors when try create, i try view in log erros of cpanel and can view this:

    ERROR: role "corecolo" does not exist
    ERROR: role "corecolo" does not exist
    ERROR: role "corecolo" does not exist

    can help me?:(:confused:
     
  2. TaneNZ

    TaneNZ Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i have the same issue -- anybody have any ideas?


    ERROR: role "CPANEL_USERNAME" does not exist
     
  3. TaneNZ

    TaneNZ Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    ok .. this only appears to effect accounts that were already on the server before postgresql was installed. new accounts are fine.

    so cpanel doesn't add roles for the old accounts, only newly created ones.

    fix?
     
  4. TaneNZ

    TaneNZ Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    fix pretty much is..

    (as root)

    cd /var/cpanel/users && for x in *; do su -c "createuser -S -D -R $x" postgres; done


    it'll create all the missing entries. hope this helps.
     
  5. halie

    halie Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Guys, what version of Postgres are you using and is it currently working with PHP?

    My host has stated that recent bugs in cPanel mean that cPanel's PHP does not support Postgres, that PhpPgAdmin is not currently compatible with cPanel, and that PDO support is not stable. They also say that although they logged these issues 3 months ago, cPanel (the company) has not provided a solution in all that time.

    Is this true? Is no-one able to use cPanel, Postgres and PHP together at the moment?

    We are using the following:

    cPanel 11.24.4-R35075 (RELEASE)
    WHM 11.24.2 - X 3.9
    CENTOS 5.2 i686 standard (kernel 2.6.18-92.el5PAE)

    PostgreSQL 8.1
    PHP 5.2.8 (suPHP)

    I'd appreciate any information about this, as I really need Postgres support for PHP, but currently my host does not convey any urgency about the matter, and blames cPanel entirely.

    Thanks in advance
    Halie
     
    #5 halie, May 5, 2009
    Last edited: May 5, 2009
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you can provide ticket numbers or case numbers, I can follow-up with those issues.

    At this time, cPanel/WHM does support PostgreSQL and if the PostgreSQL module for PHP is added via EasyApache, you can use PostgreSQL via PHP.

    We bundle phpPgAdmin with cPanel/WHM and it automatically becomes available once a PostgreSQL installation is detected.
     
  7. halie

    halie Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thank you, cPanelDavidG, for your quick reply.

    This issue with my host has been outstanding for 3 months, and they now state that they have had to put the issue "on hold" because the tickets they have logged with your company have not been resolved. Despite this, other hosts that I have spoken to are running PHP, Postgres and cPanel without any problem.

    Could you confirm that you have noted the versions of WHM/cPanel/PHP/Postgres that we are using, when you wrote your previous reply?

    Are you aware of any general issues with PDO support for Postgres, when using cPanel? For example, I believe that the following two PHP configure options need to be used, for it to work correctly:
    --with-pdo-pgsql=shared,/usr/local/pgsql
    --with-pgsql=shared,/usr/local/pgsql

    I don't have details of the ticket numbers at the moment, but will certainly ask my host to provide them to you, once I have a little more background information about the issue.

    Many thanks again for your help with this.
    Halie
     
  8. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes. I especially noted you were using PostgreSQL 8.1 which is the latest version available from the CentOS/RHEL repositories at this time despite the latest released version being 8.3, which some of our customers have managed to get running in a cPanel/WHM environment as well.

    While we do support PDO and PostgreSQL, we do not yet support a PDO-PostgreSQL module like we do for MySQL. You will need to use regular PDO or the PostgreSQL module's support for Postgres to use PostgreSQL via PHP.

    Sure, if I can have the ticket numbers so I can investigate this as well that'd be very helpful.
     
  9. xisn

    xisn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This worked perfectly, Thanks!

     
  10. filipek

    filipek Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    PDO-PostgreSQL

    Hi David,

    I'm moving a huge PHP application to a server and it uses PDO-PostgreSQL (Propel requires it), so looks like I have no option but to install this module.

    Could you give me any advice on that? Maybe how to "force" the installation (it's for homologation and testing purposes, so there's no need to use a "stable" version). Or some other way to proceed?

    Thanks in advance,

    Filipe
     
  11. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    One way to proceed is to create a custom EasyApache Optional Module (OptMod). You can almost think of custom OptMods as being plug-ins for EasyApache. You can find an explanation of how to do this in Dan's EasyApache Build presentation at the 2008 cPanel Conference:

    http://twiki.cpanel.net/twiki/pub/AllDocumentation/TrainingResources/TrainingSlides08/EA3Build.pdf

    I recommend looking at some of the Custom OptMods posted to EasyApache - cPanel Inc. - especially those pertaining to PHP like the one for GD with JIS mapped Japanese font support to have a better understanding of how you can do this.
     
Loading...

Share This Page