The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

error in WHM news

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by conanqtran, Mar 10, 2003.

  1. conanqtran

    conanqtran Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne
    in WHM, when i click on the cPanel/WHM News link, i got this:

    Any idea guys, it was working fine before, then i installed Bastille firewall, is it because of the firewall?:rolleyes:
     
  2. KingmanMe

    KingmanMe Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'd like to know this too. Definitely something to do with bastille or one of the settings.
     
  3. conanqtran

    conanqtran Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne
    yeah you are right, i installed Bastille and got screwed up, my kernel was re-complile with the Iptables option built in as a module, then i re-install Bastille again, everything is working now :D
     
  4. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    It can't be Bastille, because I don't have it installed, and I got the same error. It comes and goes...
     
  5. KingmanMe

    KingmanMe Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Are you using some other IPTables based firewall?
     
  6. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    No. I'm using Cpanel/WHM straight out of the box. I just started last week, so I haven't had time to add anything yet. The problem has disappeared since. Is anybody still experiencing it?
     
  7. KingmanMe

    KingmanMe Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I only get it when using bastille or other iptables rulesets. not sure if it's the iptables rules that are off (checked and double checked) or something to do with the kernel.
     
  8. sabrinadtc

    sabrinadtc Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am with the same problem!
    After configuring the Firewall (IPTABLES), whmnews also presented this problem......
     
  9. deezire

    deezire Registered

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Any solution to this problem? I am on the same boat with the firewall.

    Thanks
     
  10. vishal

    vishal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Hello,

    I do not know why any Firewall would cause this. but this error normally occurs if the Browser fails to connect or load the WHM News Page.

    Regards,
     
  11. FWC

    FWC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    If you are running an iptables based firewall and your Linux kernel is missing some iptables modules you can get very strange results. For example, APF will load and look like it's running fine. But, if you do an iptables -L -n and compare the results to those from a machine with a kernel compiled with more complete iptables support you will see differences. And you can easily spot the problem by running:

    grep 'locate module ipt' /var/log/messages

    You will see the missing modules listed. The only solutions I know of are to recompile the kernel with the missing iptables modules or turn the firewall off. The missing modules prevent commands in the iptables script from running properly and things that are supposed to be open aren't.
     
Loading...

Share This Page