Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Error message after update

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by orca, Oct 10, 2002.

  1. orca

    orca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Hi there,

    I post this here because WHM is completely down on my server at the moment. After an update, I get the message &Can't open perl script &&: No such file or directory& after logging into WHM.
    What can I do about this? I get this even if I run an update by shell. What's the script where you change the update preferences?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. orca

    orca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Hm, I have an idea what the problem could be...where to you change the WHM theme through the shell?

    The error persists even if I run /root/installd/install. It's only WHM which is broken, CPanel and everything else runs fine.

    Can you choose whiche Update it should take through shell (release, stable, edge)?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. orca

    orca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Can anyone give a hint on this? The WHM is still down. Updating through shell doesn't help. I submitted a support ticket but as I'm an end user it probably won't be answered.
    It also seems, that update process always stops when it gets to the interchange server...
    There's also the error message that the previous interchange server was not running...
    To say is, that I had to reboot the server since it got very slow (almost crashed). Howver, the WHM error was alreay there b4 rebooting. It might could happen sth since the server was already slow during the WHM update...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. orca

    orca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Switzerland
    40 views, no replies and my WHM still down. I now tried everything I can imagine and still the same error message. All I seem to see now is that the update always stops when coming to the interchange server...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    You can change the WHM theme by editing ~/.whmtheme
     
  6. jsteel

    jsteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I just upgraded one of our servers as well (to 225) and then lost control of the server. I'm getting over 99% packet loss and ping times in the 'seconds' for those that do make it through. I think I managed to get a reboot in on it, but it is still experiencing thr same problems. I noticed that WHM was reporting that it was a new glibc version (21 vs 20) attempting to be installed, but the same build number (225) when this occurred.

    The machine is basically dead in the water.

    Jaz
     
  7. jsteel

    jsteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    My machine finally settled down and I have access again, however, BIND won't start on it. Sent in a trouble ticket. Not sure if anyone else is having this issue.

    Jaz
     
  8. orca

    orca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Switzerland
    [quote:da17dca366][i:da17dca366]Originally posted by jsteel[/i:da17dca366]

    I just upgraded one of our servers as well (to 225) and then lost control of the server. I'm getting over 99% packet loss and ping times in the 'seconds' for those that do make it through. I think I managed to get a reboot in on it, but it is still experiencing thr same problems. I noticed that WHM was reporting that it was a new glibc version (21 vs 20) attempting to be installed, but the same build number (225) when this occurred.

    The machine is basically dead in the water.

    Jaz[/quote:da17dca366]

    B4 I got trouble with WHM I had absolutelky the same. I needed to reboot my server to solve that.
    And it's not because of the theme...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. orca

    orca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Nick solved the problem by replacing the old binary.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice