The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

error on whm

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fasty, Dec 4, 2004.

  1. fasty

    fasty Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    :cool: Hello
    I am getting following error on my WHM

    Security A Security hole has been discovered in the cPanel's frontpage installer and backup handler. To resolve the problem: Please Click Here to Upgrade
    Severity:

    Though i click on the option it does not upgrade the cpanel and just stuck on the page. I have tried to do it from shell also i have run the command
    /scripts/upcp

    but there also it get stuck and if i press ctrlC it shows

    PHP version file is up to date
    Doing a manual update...
    Cpanel updates are coming from layer2.cpanel.net
    Checking /dev/hda....OK
    x - creating lock directory
    x - SKIPPING /usr/local/lib/php.ini (file already exists)

    Thank you
    sam


    Can you help me how to slove the problem
     
  2. Charles Sweeney

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    I am having the exact same problem.

    It hung for nearly ten minutes, then I gave up on it.

    Anyone?
     
  3. simmo

    simmo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm getting the same problem as well. Anybody got a solution to this?
     
  4. OCX

    OCX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    if necessary do a reboot on your system then do the following..


    from ssh do these steps..(after reboot)

    /scripts/updatenow

    /scripts/upcp --force

    then restart services

    service cpanel restart

    service httpd restart

    etc etc

    then login to WHM and see if the security prompt is gone..
     
  5. Charles Sweeney

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    Didn't work. (thanks for the suggestion btw)

    Rebooted server. Fine.

    Ran /scripts/updatenow, fine. Ran /scripts/upcp --force, same as before, got this:

    PHP version file is up to date
    Ftp Quota Check v1.0
    Doing a manual update...
    Cpanel updates are coming from layer2.cpanel.net
    Checking /dev/hda....OK
    x - creating lock directory
    x - SKIPPING /usr/local/lib/php.ini (file already exists)
    Using Mysql4
    bandmin is up to date (Tue Apr 8 15:00:52 2003)
    chkservd is up to date (Thu Aug 19 19:05:17 2004)
    MySQL-server is up to date (Thu Oct 28 21:05:30 2004)
    MySQL-embedded is up to date (Thu Oct 28 21:05:30 2004)
    MySQL-client is up to date (Thu Oct 28 21:05:30 2004)
    MySQL-devel is up to date (Thu Oct 28 21:05:30 2004)
    MySQL-bench is up to date (Thu Oct 28 21:05:30 2004)
    MySQL-shared is up to date (Thu Oct 28 21:05:30 2004)
    MySQL-shared-compat is up to date (Thu Oct 28 22:16:52 2004)
    portsentry is up to date (Wed Jan 30 02:02:40 2002)

    Then it hung.

    I tried restarting Cpanel anyway, didn't make any difference, still getting the warning in WHM. Back to square one!
     
  6. Charles Sweeney

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    No support dudes reading this? It is a support forum, is it not?
     
  7. vla

    vla Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What are your OS, WHM and Cpanel versions ?
     
  8. Charles Sweeney

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    Hi vla.

    Operating system: Linux Redhat 3ES 7.2 (Enterprise Server)

    WHM: 9.4.0

    cPanel: 9.4.1-R55
     
  9. dezignguy

    dezignguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Are you running redhat enterprise 3 or redhat 7.2? You seem to have combined them.

    Running an older version of cpanel like that is likely to cause you problems... not to mention the security issues involved in running an older version. Set the cpanel update to automatically update to the latest cpanel stable if you can't keep it updated manually.

    In any case, you may still not be giving the update process enough time... how are you so sure that the process hung? Leave it for longer... and/or check your process usage to see if it's doing anything.
     
  10. LA_fro

    LA_fro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I agree with fasty give it time. These sometimes take a while to run especially if it has to update alot of things.

    Also this is a support forum but does not have admins or cpanel support teams. To guarantee their response submit a ticket, other wise read the signup notice.
     
  11. Charles Sweeney

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    The time issue. I gave it at least ten minutes, possibly fifteen, with nothing apparently happening. I could try again, and just let it run, see how it goes.

    I will look into updating cPanel. I thought I would have got an alert if cPanel was out of date. I will look at the option of the automatic updates.

    Thanks for the wise-crack LA_fro about reading the signup notice. I have a rented dedicated server, it came with cPanel installed, I don't remember seeing any notice.

    I will report back when I fix it, for the benefit of those who are experiencing the same problem.
     
  12. Charles Sweeney

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    ok, fixed it now. Solution: time, and a lot of it!

    In WHM I clicked on "Upgrade to latest version". This is the same link as offered in the security alert. I let it run. After 35 minutes I got this error: "Error communicating with server. The message was:
    Connection timed out"

    So I tried it through SSH with /scripts/upcp

    Again, I let this run (as before, didn't appear to be doing anything). Once again, after about 35 minutes I got the same error as above.

    I hit "Ctrl c" to escape the command. Didn't appear to do anything, so I hit "Ctrl c" again. Suddenly it sprang into action! I got a lot of stuff flashing up on the screen, checking and installing files etc. After a short while, it then appeared to be doing nothing much. It was just giving me lines of dots, with progress messages every so often. At least I could see that it was doing something.

    This ran like this for about 2.5 hours! Finally it came up with the message "cPanel Install Complete".

    I logged into WHM. I noticed that the security notice had gone, and that it was now showing as the latest version.

    So yes, time was a factor, but it was a little strange waiting for 35 mins for timeout error, then having to hit "Ctrl c" before it actually worked!
     
  13. dezignguy

    dezignguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nope. If you have the update schedule set to 'Manual Updates', then it will never update unless you do it yourself. If you aren't paying enough attention to the server and/or cpanel bugs/security problems, then you will likely want to set it to Automatic Updates for the Stable tree. Some cpanel security problems would get your server hacked and rooted if you weren't paying attention to updates. Sometimes, for a particularly bad security issue, or one that they can easily determine the status of through WHM, they'll give you a notice when you login to whm... but you don't want to rely on that.

    Wow, I've never had an update take near that long... do you have a really slow or overloaded internet connection? Or perhaps cpanel's update server was overloaded from the recent releases that came out last night.

    I also think that it's odd that the install kept going after the initial connection failure. As there's alot of downloading after that. I think I would do a '/scripts/upcp --force' to force a reinstall to hopefully catch some things that probably didn't get installed because of the connection issue. Maybe a bug was fixed somewhere too, so that doesn't turn up again.
     
  14. Charles Sweeney

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    Yes, I now have it on automatic updates.

    Not sure about the connection. I'm in the UK, the server is in Texas. So the connection would have been between Texas, and wherever the cPanel server is. Perhaps it was because I had quite a bit of updating to do? Or as you say, the cPanel server may have been overloaded.

    Thanks for your thoughts.
     
Loading...

Share This Page