The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

error pages not working

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rastoma, Nov 2, 2001.

  1. rastoma

    rastoma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    When a user sets up error pages in cpanel, they simply do not work. Is there a bug in the creation of error pages or is there something else that needs to be done for the web pages to work properly?
     
  2. Annette

    Annette Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You mean the *.shtml items? We\'ve found that IE will not display them without a .htaccess in the site root (even if they are of a large enough size for IE to recognize them as displayable files, since there\'s that piece as well), although Netscape doesn\'t seem to have a problem with them.
     
  3. Dahlia

    Dahlia Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    does anyone know how to get the error pages working for sub-domains?
     
  4. Annette

    Annette Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Drop a .htaccess into the subdomain\'s root with

    ErrorDocument 404 errorpage.html

    Assuming the appropriate error page exists there (and is of an approriate size if using IE), it will be displayed.
     
  5. Dahlia

    Dahlia Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hi Annette,

    found out that the actual error document (.shtml file) needed to be moved into the subdirectory to work with the subdomain. although the error page worked for the subdirectory format, was just not working in the subdomain format of the URL. Nick asked me to put in a request to have the files created for subdomains also.. so i\'ll be doing that today if i don\'t forget... :eek:
     
  6. jackal

    jackal Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Was this request ever turned in?
     
  7. xperience2

    xperience2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Surely cpanel should create the .htaccess?

    Simon
     
Loading...

Share This Page