The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Error reloading bind on dnserver3: rndc: 'reload' failed: not found

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by KatieBuller, Jun 17, 2005.

  1. KatieBuller

    KatieBuller BANNED

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why am I getting this error?
    Error reloading bind on dnserver3: rndc: 'reload' failed: not found

    rndc reload works fine from the command line:
    root@dnserver3 [/scripts]# rndc
    Usage: rndc [-c config] [-s server] [-p port]
    [-k key-file ] [-y key] [-V] command

    command is one of the following:

    reload Reload configuration file and zones.
    reload zone [class [view]]
    Reload a single zone.
    refresh zone [class [view]]
    Schedule immediate maintenance for a zone.
    reconfig Reload configuration file and new zones only.
    stats Write server statistics to the statistics file.
    querylog Toggle query logging.
    dumpdb Dump cache(s) to the dump file (named_dump.db).
    stop Save pending updates to master files and stop the server.
    halt Stop the server without saving pending updates.
    trace Increment debugging level by one.
    trace level Change the debugging level.
    notrace Set debugging level to 0.
    flush Flushes all of the server's caches.
    flush [view] Flushes the server's cache for a view.
    status Display status of the server.
    *restart Restart the server.

    * == not yet implemented
    Version: 9.2.4
    root@dnserver3 [/scripts]# rndc reload

    When I restart bind from the WHM I get:
    named started ok Jun 17 11:45:44 dnserver3 named[29122]: shutting down: flushing changes Jun 17 11:45:44 dnserver3 named[29122]: stopping command channel on 127.0.0.1#953 Jun 17 11:45:44 dnserver3 named[29122]: no longer listening on 127.0.0.1#53 Jun 17 11:45:44 dnserver3 named[29122]: no longer listening on 69.xxx.xxx.xxx#53 Jun 17 11:45:44 dnserver3 named[29122]: exiting Jun 17 11:45:44 dnserver3 named: succeeded Jun 17 11:45:45 dnserver3 named[29232]: starting BIND 9.2.4 -u named Jun 17 11:45:45 dnserver3 named[29232]: using 1 CPU Jun 17 11:45:45 dnserver3 named[29232]: loading configuration from '/etc/named.conf' Jun 17 11:45:45 dnserver3 named: named startup succeeded Jun 17 11:45:45 dnserver3 named[29232]: no IPv6 interfaces found Jun 17 11:45:45 dnserver3 named[29232]: listening on IPv4 interface lo, 127.0.0.1#53 Jun 17 11:45:45 dnserver3 named[29232]: listening on IPv4 interface eth0, 69.xxx.xxx.xxx#53 Jun 17 11:45:45 dnserver3 named[29232]: command channel listening on 127.0.0.1#953 Jun 17 11:45:45 dnserver3 named[29232]: zone 0.in-addr.arpa/IN: loaded serial 42 Jun 17 11:45:45 dnserver3 named[29232]: zone 0.0.127.in-addr.arpa/IN: loaded serial 1997022700 Jun 17 11:45:45 dnserver3 named[29232]: zone 255.in-addr.arpa/IN: loaded serial 42 Jun 17 11:45:45 dnserver3 named[29232]: zone 0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.ip6.arpa/IN: loaded serial 1997022700 Jun 17 11:45:45 dnserver3 named[29232]: zone localdomain/IN: loaded serial 42 Jun 17 11:45:45 dnserver3 named[29232]: zone localhost/IN: loaded serial 42 Jun 17 11:45:45 dnserver3 named[29232]: running Jun 17 11:45:58 dnserver3 named[29232]: lame server resolving 'mxxxxxxx.com' (in 'mxxxxxxx.com'?): 69.xxx.xxx.xxx#53 Jun 17 11:45:58 dnserver3 named[29232]: lame server resolving 'mxxxxxxxxx.com' (in 'mxxxxxxxxx.com'?): 2xx.xxx.xxx.xxx#53

    HELP!!!
     
  2. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What OS and architecture is the system with the issue?

    What build of cPanel are you using?

    What kernel version is the system?

    Any recent kernel version change?
     
  3. KatieBuller

    KatieBuller BANNED

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What OS and architecture is the system with the issue?
    >>CentOS 3.4

    What build of cPanel are you using?
    >>Latest, bleeding edge

    What kernel version is the system?
    >>2.4.21-27.0.2.EL

    Any recent kernel version change?
    >>No
     
  4. awibble

    awibble Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am having the same problem

    OS - Trustix
    cPanel- Latest (Edge)

    no recent cahnges have been made
     
  5. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    My first guess would be that you have a broken kernel futexes implementation. Try running /scripts/futexfix or updating the system to a 2.6 kernel.
     
  6. awibble

    awibble Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, I tried running that script, but it didnt work.

    When i ran it i got no output from it, not sure if thats right?

    I've seen a few people round the net with the same problem, but none seem to of found the answer.

    Thanks
     
  7. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    At this point the best course of action is to submit a support ticket. I'm sure that one of our techs will be able to resolve the issue for you.

    Good Luck
     
  8. KatieBuller

    KatieBuller BANNED

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cpanel was out before there was a kernel version 2.6 and dns worked ok.

    Surely you must have changed something?
     
  9. KatieBuller

    KatieBuller BANNED

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ben, arent you cpanel support?

    Sure you can give more info than submit a support ticket, what is the first thing cpanel support would do when they got my ticket?
     
  10. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    If you're being advised to log a ticket, that is what you should do so that they can help with your problem. If you purchased the license through a 3rd party you can have them log the ticket on your behalf if you prefer.
     
  11. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Not to be smart, but the first thing they would do is log into the server to get a better sense of the circumstances of the issue. The reason that I recommend opening a support ticket immediately is because I would consider this to be a fairly significant issue that should be resolved as quickly as possible. Now we could go through the troubleshooting process here in the forums, relying completely on your ability to answer my questions as accurately as possible. However, that process may take days to complete, whereas if one of our techs had access to your server, then the process may only take moments and at worst, hours.

    In this type of situation where what I would consider to be the most apparent cause of your issue does not provide a resolution to the problem, then I like to see a support ticket opened immediately. However in hindsight, I forgot to ask a key question:

    Is dnsserver3 the same server where rndc from the command line works? That would seem to be the case from your posted prompt, but you never truly know ... unless you're actually sitting on the command prompt yourself.

    In my experience, failure to execute rndc through the WHM or cPanel while it works from the command line is usually a futexes problem, especially since you're using a 2.4 kernel. But I can't say for sure unless I can strace some of the offending processes.

    On a side note, I really hate to see customers suffering through an issue, pleading for help from other users, while our support techs sit idle. cPanel comes with very liberal support (read we often accept tickets from people who we technically don't support). What would be awesome is if someone has an issue, asks for help here, unfortunately doesn't receive a working answer in a few hours (or days for minor issues), opens a support ticket with cPanel, gets their issue resolved, and then ... reports what the deal was back to the same forum thread. Now that would be very cool.
     
  12. KatieBuller

    KatieBuller BANNED

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you I will submit a support ticket.
     
  13. rj45

    rj45 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I fixed the same problem by doing away with the in view and external views within /etc/named.conf.

    I reverted back to the old style.
     
Loading...

Share This Page