The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Error when running /scripts/upcp

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by WildWayz, Dec 17, 2001.

  1. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi, I get this error when running /scripts/upcp
    [quote:6c1c3319c0]==> Extracting snarf...done
    ==> Requesting id...done.
    ==> Attempting to find out what the latest version is...Error!

    The download of the installer was unsuccessful.

    The installer was being downloaded from `http://layer2.cpanel.net/lastest\' into `/tmp/cp3installer.2097.name\'.

    This is probably due to an invalid username and password
    pair, or the ip your are installing from is not in the
    access list. Please contact cpanel@darkorb.net if you believe
    that this is not an oversight on your part.[/quote:6c1c3319c0]

    It was working fine up until a few days ago :/

    Any ideas?

    --James

    [Edited on 12/17/01 by WildWayz]
     
  2. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hmmm....

    /scripts/updatenow may help, as it should update all of your backened scripts so that upcp is the latest and greatest.

    Or the latest layer 2 is always present here of course: http://layer2.cpanel.net/


    Good luck.
    :cool:
     
  3. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ta

    is the latest Layer2 this...
    http://layer2.cpanel.net/Cpanel-4.0.0-STABLE_163-Linux-i686-glibc-2.1.3-16mdk

    ?

    --James
     
  4. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    :D

    Yes, the highest number is the latest stable build.

    TRUE.
     
  5. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    When wget\'ing it, I get this...
    [quote:0756e51742]root@insomnia [~]# wget http://layer2.cpanel.net/Cpanel-4.0.0-STABLE_163-Linux-i686-glibc-2.1.3-16mdk
    --19:51:26-- http://layer2.cpanel.net/Cpanel-4.0.0-STABLE_163-Linux-i686-glibc-2.1.3-16mdk
    => `Cpanel-4.0.0-STABLE_163-Linux-i686-glibc-2.1.3-16mdk\'
    Connecting to layer2.cpanel.net:80... connected!
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response...
    End of file while parsing headers.
    Retrying.[/quote:0756e51742]

    :(

    --James
     
  6. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Did you try /scripts/updatenow ?
    Also, try lynx\'ing it directly from the URL and pipe it to /bin/sh, like ...

    lynx -source URL_TO_FILE | sh
    or \" /bin/sh \" at the end if the system requires it.


    :cool:
     
  7. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yep - tried /scripts/updatenow - said it was going to update in the background then heard nothing more.

    Just trying
    lynx -source http://layer2.cpanel.net/Cpanel-4.0.0-STABLE_163-Linux-i686-glibc-2.1.3-16mdk | sh

    but it is just hanging there :/

    I tried just
    lynx http://layer2.cpanel.net

    and it times out :/

    --James
     
  8. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just was able to ::

    lynx http://layer2.cpanel.net/
    (from a machine on the west coast, to the update box near the east coast)....

    I scrolled down and found the latest layer2 install script available....

    Cpanel-4.0.0-STABLE_163-Linux-i686-glibc-2.1.3-16mdk

    ??? Perhaps the route between your machine(s) is breaking up or completely severed?

    Try a traceroute to layer1 or layer2....
     
  9. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hmmm think there is a link down :/
    [quote:e79f01be8a]admin@insomnia [~]# /usr/sbin/traceroute layer2.cpanel.net
    traceroute to operator.burst.net (205.162.50.248), 30 hops max, 38 byte packets
    1 fenet10-0.medusa.5sc.net (209.124.64.2) 1.269 ms 0.715 ms 1.151 ms
    2 209.51.137.249 (209.51.137.249) 0.700 ms 1.180 ms 1.448 ms
    3 f1.ba01.b000173-0.atl01.atlas.cogentco.com (66.28.20.129) 1.008 ms 1.079 ms 0.894 ms
    4 g9-2.core01.atl01.atlas.cogentco.com (66.28.5.245) 0.752 ms 0.820 ms 1.271 ms
    5 p14-0.core02.dca01.atlas.cogentco.com (66.28.4.126) 12.697 ms 13.746 ms 12.701 ms
    6 p15-0.core01.dca01.atlas.cogentco.com (66.28.4.21) 12.490 ms 13.113 ms 14.100 ms
    7 p4-0.core01.phl01.atlas.cogentco.com (66.28.4.18) 16.322 ms 16.830 ms 16.564 ms
    8 sl-bb10-pen-6-1.sprintlink.net (160.81.202.17) 17.131 ms 16.465 ms 17.225 ms
    9 sl-bb25-pen-5-2.sprintlink.net (144.232.5.37) 17.221 ms 16.520 ms 17.277 ms
    10 sl-gw27-pen-0-0-0.sprintlink.net (144.232.5.194) 50.962 ms 205.357 ms 30.976 ms
    11 * * *
    12 rdns1.hostnoc.net (205.162.50.248) 103.818 ms 102.188 ms 102.434 ms


    admin@insomnia [~]# /usr/sbin/traceroute layer1.cpanel.net
    traceroute to operator.burst.net (205.162.50.248), 30 hops max, 38 byte packets
    1 fenet10-0.medusa.5sc.net (209.124.64.2) 0.715 ms 1.317 ms 0.730 ms
    2 209.51.137.249 (209.51.137.249) 0.850 ms 1.307 ms 1.246 ms
    3 f1.ba01.b000173-0.atl01.atlas.cogentco.com (66.28.20.129) 1.478 ms 1.194 ms 0.947 ms
    4 g9-2.core01.atl01.atlas.cogentco.com (66.28.5.245) 0.805 ms 0.660 ms 0.690 ms
    5 p14-0.core02.dca01.atlas.cogentco.com (66.28.4.126) 13.611 ms 13.873 ms 13.226 ms
    6 p15-0.core01.dca01.atlas.cogentco.com (66.28.4.21) 13.227 ms 12.417 ms 12.729 ms
    7 p4-0.core01.phl01.atlas.cogentco.com (66.28.4.18) 16.212 ms 16.324 ms 16.959 ms
    8 sl-bb10-pen-6-1.sprintlink.net (160.81.202.17) 17.358 ms 16.596 ms 16.462 ms
    9 sl-bb25-pen-5-2.sprintlink.net (144.232.5.37) 17.749 ms 17.345 ms 18.584 ms
    10 sl-gw27-pen-0-0-0.sprintlink.net (144.232.5.194) 17.725 ms 17.463 ms 17.295 ms
    11 * * *
    12 rdns1.hostnoc.net (205.162.50.248) 102.179 ms 103.208 ms 102.237 ms[/quote:e79f01be8a]

    --James

    [Edited on 12/17/01 by WildWayz]
     
  10. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    all working fine now :)

    After 2 days it seems to have been fixed :D

    --James
     
Loading...

Share This Page