Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Error when running "Update Server Software" in WHM

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by redrigo8, Jun 28, 2008.

  1. redrigo8

    redrigo8 Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Hi,

    I got this error when I run "Update Server Software"
    Error: Missing Dependency: bind = 30:9.3.3-10.el5 is needed by package bind-chroot

    In my yum.conf file I have following exclude:
    exclude=apache* bind-chroot courier* dovecot* exim* httpd* mod_ssl* mysql* nsd* perl* php* proftpd* pure-ftpd* spamassassin* squirrelmail*

    My server is CentOS 5 with WHM 11.23.2

    Regards
    Martin
     
  2. Lucas

    Lucas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Around the world
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yup, same here. Even thought the bind package is installed.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. gyftaki

    gyftaki Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Same problem here. It's caused by yum trying to upgrade the bind package while the bind-chroot package is in the exclude= directive in /etc/yum.conf.
    Since bind-chroot is excluded, yum is unable upgrade it, and it depends on the older version of bind.
    I opened a ticket with cpanel (since the exclude= directive is set by them), and I was told that using bind-chroot isn't recommended anyway.
    Doing 'yum remove bind-chroot' solved the problem for me. I guess if you want to keep using bind-chroot, just prevent it from being excluded by editing /etc/yum.conf and yum will upgrade it.
     
  4. Lucas

    Lucas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Around the world
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What is bind-chroot exactly used for? Tried to look around google with no clues. I removed it for now.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,570
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What was your ticket number?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Lucas

    Lucas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Around the world
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So any normal fix for this?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice