The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Error when trying to register cPanel plugin

Discussion in 'cPanel Developers' started by brainyron, Sep 1, 2011.

  1. brainyron

    brainyron Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Registering this same plugin works on another box, so obviously something is amiss here. I've tried running /scripts/checkperlmodules --force and even reinstalling Perl but to no avail.

    Server is running CentOS 6.0 on Xen with cPanel 11.30.2


    [2011-09-01 19:48:53 +0000] die [Internal Death while parsing [stdin] 4018] open3: exec of file - failed at /usr/local/cpanel/bin/register_cpanelplugin line 33
    at /usr/local/lib/perl5/5.8.8/IPC/Open3.pm line 246
    IPC::Open3::_open3('open3', 'main', 'GLOB(0x202e9e0)', 'GLOB(0x202ea00)', '>&STDERR', 'file', '-') called at /usr/local/lib/perl5/5.8.8/IPC/Open3.pm line 307
    IPC::Open3::eek:pen3('GLOB(0x202e9e0)', 'GLOB(0x202ea00)', '>&STDERR', 'file', '-') called at /usr/local/cpanel/bin/register_cpanelplugin line 33


    open3: exec of file - failed at /usr/local/cpanel/bin/register_cpanelplugin line 33
    [2011-09-01 19:48:53 +0000] die [Internal Death while parsing [stdin] 4017] Invalid image ([a fatal error or timeout occurred while processing this directive]
    ) in cpaddonsfile at /usr/local/cpanel/bin/register_cpanelplugin line 40.
    at /usr/local/cpanel/bin/register_cpanelplugin line 40


    [a fatal error or timeout occurred while processing this directive]
    Invalid image ([a fatal error or timeout occurred while processing this directive]
    ) in cpaddonsfile at /usr/local/cpanel/bin/register_cpanelplugin line 40.
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    For the other box where this is working, is it running CentOS 5 instead? I am just trying to rule out whether this is related to using CentOS 6 or not.
     
  3. brainyron

    brainyron Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, actually, it is CentOS 5. I suspected it might be related which is why I specifically mentioned that. Both boxes are 64 bit.
     
  4. MattDees

    MattDees cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please try renerating the file. What image format did you use when creating the cpanelplugin file?
     
  5. brainyron

    brainyron Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I actually did try regenerating the file. I don't remember what it was on the original plugin file but I know this time it was a PNG. Shall I try a JPG? I would also be willing to send you the plugin file if that would be helpful.
     
  6. MattDees

    MattDees cPanel Product Owner
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That would be really helpful. Also having the source image you used would be handy.

    If you want you can open a ticket w/ "ATTN: Matt Dees" in the subject line at tickets.cpanel.net/submit

    If you do it after business hours today, I probably won't get to it until tuesday.
     
  7. brainyron

    brainyron Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Putting the Relevant files here.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Brian

    Brian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    brainyron, it sounds like you're missing the "file" rpm.

    Code:
    open3: exec of [B]file[/B] - failed at
    Is the "file" rpm installed?

    Code:
    rpm -q file
    This rpm/binary is required by /usr/local/cpanel/bin/register_cpanelplugin. Installing that rpm should then take care of this for you.

    Code:
    yum install file
    This rpm should have been installed by default on a minimal CentOS install; although I have seen some CentOS 6 installations lack this RPM for yet to be determined reasons. A case had since been filed on this matter (Case 51199) to have cPanel ensure this RPM is installed for you just in case your CentOS install lacked it. That's planned for 11.32. But, as mentioned, it's just a matter of installing the missing RPM manually in the interim.
     
Loading...

Share This Page