The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Error with enterprise

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by steveswaldo, Dec 30, 2003.

  1. steveswaldo

    steveswaldo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    when ever i try to update something rpm related threw whm i get this error:

    This system may not be updated until it is associated with a channel.
     
  2. steveswaldo

    steveswaldo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    in the rpm installer it has:

    Select packages to install Traceback (most recent call last): File "/usr/sbin/up2date", line 1165, in ? sys.exit(main() or 0) File "/usr/sbin/up2date", line 572, in main printList(rhnPackageInfo.getAllAvailableAllArchPackageList(), cfg['showChannels']) File "rhnPackageInfo.py", line 264, in getAllAvailableAllArchPackageList File "rhnPackageInfo.py", line 178, in allAvailablePackageList File "repoDirector.py", line 63, in initRepoDirector File "repoDirector.py", line 23, in __init__ File "rhnChannel.py", line 145, in getChannels up2date_client.up2dateErrors.NoChannelsError: This system may not be updated until it is associated with a channel.
     
  3. rfonseca

    rfonseca Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  4. steveswaldo

    steveswaldo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ok thanks, what about this error

    /etc/rc.d/init.d/named: line 112: 12781 Segmentation fault /usr/sbin/rndc status

    anyone got that one before? i searched around the boards but couldnt find anything relating to that error

    thank you
     
  5. jphilipson

    jphilipson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    segfaults are ussually associated with bad ram or a faulty drive... use memtest to check your ram, and have your datacenter run a manual fsck on your machine.
     
  6. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Unfortunatly not the case for that error under RHE3

    Just went through this exact same thing. It took nearly two weeks to get fixed as no-one understood what was exactly happening.

    Here is what I can tell though..

    We recieved this from the NOC initially.


    I hope this helps and can point you or your NOC in the right direction.
     
  7. bonnmac

    bonnmac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm having this same problem. However cpanel support tells me they do not support the use of up2date. But it's whm that is giving me this error.

    I went to
    http://www.redhat.com/archives/fedo...r/msg00035.html

    and it says to uncomment up2date default in /etc/sysconfig/rhn however it's not there for me to uncomment.

    Any ideas?
     
  8. Cloak

    Cloak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same problems here.

    I found that line in

    /etc/sysconfig/rhn/sources

    But it made no difference.
     
  9. MattDr2

    MattDr2 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Norman, OK
    I had to register our EV1 RHE server with RHN ($170!) to get up2date associated with the RHE channel. ;(

    If you have a license from your provider, they should have configured it. If you're at EV1, you'll need to manually use their apt implementation, or register with RHN.

    I think the cPanel use of up2date is very shoddy and I don't like it one bit... but I went ahead and subscribed to up2date just to be on the supported side for now.

    Regards,
    Matt
     
  10. Cloak

    Cloak Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yeah, I thought so too, until I called, then called again to verify through someone else.

    Evidentally, their apt-get implementation is *NOT* for cpanel, only for 'general RHE installation'. Basically they're not willing to help with all the problems that I'm experiencing because of it and are pretty much suggesting flatten and reinstall. I've thought about buying the 1 year update, but at this point I'm almost ready to just trash it and go with Fedora.
     
  11. MattDr2

    MattDr2 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Norman, OK
    Although the load is much lower on my RHE box than it ever was when it was running RH9 or RH7.3, I would end up going with Fedora if I had to choose right now, just because of the problems I've had with RHE/Cpanel with EV1. Not only do you have to purchase your own up2date support for RHE since cPanel uses up2date to update packages, but you also have to deal with being a lone ranger in a field of the untested. I've been waiting on a reply from tech support for days for an exim TLS issue. =(

    Seem to be a good bit of dependency issues using the up2date/cPanel method.

    Regards,
    Matt

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: 35342
     
Loading...

Share This Page