The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Error - zcat: stdout: Broken pipe

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lfazekas, Oct 10, 2004.

  1. lfazekas

    lfazekas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello

    I am running Cpanel WHM 9.7.2 cPanel 9.7.7-R15
    RedHat Enterprise 3 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

    Every day I am getting the following error message emailed to me. Can someone tell me what this means and how I go about fixing the problem.

    /etc/cron.weekly/makewhatis.cron:


    zcat: stdout: Broken pipe

    zcat: stdout: Broken pipe

    zcat: stdout: Broken pipe

    zcat: stdout: Broken pipe

    zcat: stdout: Broken pipe

    zcat: stdout: Broken pipe

    Thanks
    Les
     
  2. prasul

    prasul Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Air you breathe
    This error has been eating my brain for quite a while.. Any help on this is highly appreciated. I have heard that this occurs due to some error function in the makewhatis function. I am not sure though.

    Looking forward for the genius :p

    Prasul :)
     
  3. benito

    benito Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mar del Plata - Argentina
    I got the same error on a fresh new installed server.

    Cristian
     
  4. Suter Rainer

    Suter Rainer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I got the same error on a fresh new installed server.

    thx for replay
     
  5. t9clkclnr

    t9clkclnr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Southern California
    lol yes i also have the same error on a freshly installed

    freshly installed server...
     
  6. sexshun

    sexshun Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  7. anup123

    anup123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    This Planet
    It's a known bug on CentOS forums.

    Cheers
    Anup
     
  8. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Well, it's a know bug with whatis that's been around for years (going back at least to RH6) usually caused by orphaned symlinks in the man directories. It's quite possible to fix, just takes time and a lot of trawling.
     
  9. anup123

    anup123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    This Planet
    Yes they call it upstream bug.
    prelink also fails on CentOS (despite selinux disabled)

    Cheers
    Anup
     
  10. fishfreek

    fishfreek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So no quick easy fix. Probably something I should talk with the datacenter about then?
     
  11. jwiens

    jwiens Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My easy fix is described here . Of course, it's not a complete fix in that it doesn't really fix the underlying problem, but it's not really a big concern. How many people actually use the "whatis" command anyway?
     
Loading...

Share This Page