Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Error_Log Empty --- The main one: /usr/local/apache/logs

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by ToddW, Apr 20, 2014.

  1. ToddW

    ToddW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log was about 250mb, I had it set to rotate at 300mb. Seeing as most of it was old / before server was in use (idle for 6mo) I wanted to clear it out, and start fresh.

    4/20/2014
    1) Remove "error_log" file from above location.
    2) Create empty "error_log" file in above location.
    3) make sure permissions were same as before (-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 Apr 20 11:07 error_log)
    4) Restart cPanel to make sure it goes in affect to start up again in case it errored out attempting to write when the file was missing for a few seconds. (service cpanel restart)

    I then visited a couple "Missing" pages that will throw a 404 in the 'error_log' file, and nothing. I can't get any error to show up, and I know there should be some written numerous times per-minute. (Hosting a # of popular sites.)

    How can I get the usr/local/apache/logs/error_log ENABLED and working again, seems odd it stopped?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. ToddW

    ToddW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    And now it's randomly started writing.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. m@!

    m@! Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel automatically creates it's own error log. No need to create it yourself. In-fact, that could have been part of the problem to begin with.
     
  4. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    93
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    It's also not necessary to restart cPanel. A simple restart of Apache should be all that is needed.

    Code:
    # /scripts/restartsrv_httpd
    
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice