The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Errors updating system software

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Skin, Sep 13, 2011.

  1. Skin

    Skin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Italy
    Hello,
    if I try to update using /scripts/upcp , I have an error:
    Can you please help?
     
  2. Skin

    Skin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Italy
    I'have just tried
    but with no luck
     
    #2 Skin, Sep 13, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2011
  3. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please try the following:

    Code:
    mv /var/lib/rpm/__db* /root
    rpm --rebuilddb
    yum clean all
    If that does not work, please run these commands and provide the output for each one:

    Code:
    df -kh
    df -i
    ls -lah /var/named/slaves
    touch testfile /var
    The first two (df -kh and df -i) are to check disk space and disk inodes. The third is to see if you have a folder named /var/named/slaves or someone has mistakenly created a file by that name instead (it must be a folder not a file). The last command is to see if /var is read-only and not allowing components to be written to it.
     
  4. Skin

    Skin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Italy
    Hello,
    the first solution won't work;

    here is the output asked:
    Thank you very much for your support
     
  5. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please try the following (and post the output of the first command):

    Code:
    ls -ld /var/named
    cd /var/named
    mkdir slaves
    chown -R named:named slaves
    Please re-try running "yum update" at that point to see the results.
     
  6. Skin

    Skin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Italy
    Here is the output of the previuos commands.
    If I try to update, using /scripts/upcp I sitll have the error.

    Thanks
     
  7. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, you have the same error as it cannot create the directory as it indicated. Please provide the contents in /var/named:

    Code:
    ls -lah /var/named
     
  8. Skin

    Skin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Italy
    here it is :
     
  9. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Here is the issue:

    Code:
    ?--------- ? ? ? ? ? slaves
    This is called slaves but doesn't have any details on it. Whenever you see something like that, it indicates that the folder or file has corruption, since the folder details aren't readable. You can try to move it to see if that works:

    Code:
    cd /var/named
    mv slaves /root
    At that point, see if you can create the slaves folder in /var/named location. Of note, you also have core files dumping in that folder:

    Code:
    -rw-r----- 1 root named 103M Dec 13 2008 core.11973
     
  10. Skin

    Skin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Italy
    Thanks, I've just tried but won't work:

    May be I should ask to my provider to run a filesystem check?
     
  11. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, you definitely should have a filesystem check processed. Please ensure you have off server backups prior to having them run that check. The missing values on the slaves folder (all those ?) along with core file dump in /var/named indicates a file system issue.
     
  12. Skin

    Skin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Italy
    Thank you very much for your support, I'm going to ask a filesystem Check.

    Best regards
    Alessio
     
  13. Skin

    Skin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Italy
    Solved :)
    after a file system check now I can upgrade Bind.

    Thanks very much for your support
    Alessio

     
Loading...

Share This Page