The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Errors with cPanel/apache & wordpress

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by StarbuckII, Mar 22, 2012.

  1. StarbuckII

    StarbuckII Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Some of my users are getting the following errors when attempting to upload plugins to their wordpress sites.
    Everything I have found indicates that this is an issue with cPanel/Apache settings.

    Here is the error that is generated.

    Fatal Error: Allowed memory size of XXXX bytes exhausted. (tried to allocate XXXX bytes in /home/XXXX/public_html/wp-includes/class-simplepie.php line 5410

    This is very frustrating as what I see presented elsewhere involves hacking each installation. Clearly I don't want to do that, nor do I want users doing it.

    Everything I have found points to issues with Apache settings but I can't find where I would change them globally for all users. I am hoping that somebody knows how to do this & can point me in the right direction.
     
  2. LeadDogGraphics

    LeadDogGraphics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    West Palm Beach, FL
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Change it in WHM > Service Configuration > PHP Configuration Editor

    The setting you are looking for is called 'memory_limit'

    Increase this setting, for wordpress it should be no less than 64MB or you will get that error constantly. I have mine set at 128 and never see that error even with a few graphic plugins that use a lot of memory when run.
     
  3. StarbuckII

    StarbuckII Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks that fixed it.



     
  4. leytdg1

    leytdg1 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi there,

    I am having exactly the same problem, but I don't understand how to apply the solution posted above.

    How do I get to:
    WHM > Service Configuration > PHP Configuration Editor

    within my cpanel?

    Thank you.

    Deven.
     
  5. Oleg.Gricik

    Oleg.Gricik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Within WHM, but sometimes you need to increase memory_limit option in your main php.ini file.
    Also, you can make a local copy (for certain user)
    in order to propagate this php.ini file for whole account you need to add the following string in .htaccess file (works for SuPHP+SuExec, DSO doesn't work)
    SetEnv PHPRC /home/username/public_html/php.ini

    Where /home/username/public_html/php.ini is your local PHP.ini file.
    Modified .htaccess file should be located in root or under public_html (I prefer in public_html)
     
Loading...

Share This Page