The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

/etc/ips

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by zigzam, Oct 6, 2009.

  1. zigzam

    zigzam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I need to change the subnet masks on IPs. Can I simply edit /etc/ips
     
  2. ffeingol

    ffeingol Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yup, did that a few weeks ago and worked fine. Don't forget to change your main subnet mask also.
     
  3. zigzam

    zigzam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Changed the file but route still shows the old setting. Does something need need to be restarted?
     
  4. ffeingol

    ffeingol Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    After you change everything you have to do:

    service network restart
    service ipaliases restart

    1st one restarts your main networking and the 2nd one binds all the extra IP's (done through WHM)
     
  5. zigzam

    zigzam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Works now. thank you
     
Loading...

Share This Page