The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

/etc/localdomains is always missing one domain name

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jasgot, Jul 3, 2006.

  1. jasgot

    jasgot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Every time something triggers a localdomains rebuild (/scripts/mailperm, or restarting exim, or updating mailscanner, etc) I have to add one domain back to localdomains.

    I did create this domain account incorrectly at first, then deleted the account and re-created it. Everything else regarding this domain is fine, it just doesn't show up in localdomains.

    I found this advice in many threads regarding localdamains, to run: /scripts/mailperm but I have to add my missing domain after I do that. So whatever is rebuilding the localdomains is not seeing this one domain.

    How can I fix this?

    Thanks.
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    /scripts/mailperm is what rebuilds /etc/localdomains. It uses the DNS= lines from /var/cpanel/users/*, so you need to ensure that that users file is setup correctly. Also, make sure that if /etc/remotedomains exists that that domain isn't listed in it.
     
  3. jasgot

    jasgot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Wow, thanks; the domain IS listed in remotedomains and remotedomains,v

    Since it is the ONLY domain listed, can I just delete btoh files and restart EXIM?

    Or should I remove the domain name and save the empty file?
     
  4. jasgot

    jasgot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Okay, Since I am smarter than my own good, I renamed the remotedomains to remotedomains.bad and re-ran /scripts/mailperm

    Now that suspect domain shows up in localdomains! YEAH!!!!

    So is this all there is to it? Or should I be looking for other problems?

    Thanks, Chirpy.

    Jason.
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    That's all there should be to it.
     
  6. jasgot

    jasgot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks. I will sleep tonight!
     
  7. ankushdawar

    ankushdawar Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    Hi,

    How can I make sure that server has setup /var/cpanel/users/*
    For all users correctly. Is there a autofix for all, if there is anything
    wrong them.

    I am asking because, very often domains are deleted from /etc/localdomains
    by themselves ... not able to figure out.

    Thanks.
     
  8. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    The only check that I'm aware of is:

    /scripts/updateuserdomains

    ...and watch for errors.
     
Loading...

Share This Page