Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

/etc/my.cnf almost empty on new server

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by postcd, Oct 11, 2011.

  1. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Hi, on my old cpanel server i hade full my.cnf file with various variables regarding mysql, but on my new cpanel installed server. Its almost empty.

    I coppied configuration files of cpanel to a new server according to manual here: http://forums.cpanel.net/f5/process-moving-whm-cpanel-server-new-hardware-184192.html#post831162


    [mysqld]
    set-variable = max_connections=500
    log-slow-queries
    safe-show-database
    bind-address = 127.0.0.1


    ---
    My old server has variables like:

    [mysqld]

    log_slow_queries=/var/log/mysqld.slow.log
    long_query_time=3

    socket = /var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock
    safe-show-database
    old-password=1
    set-variable = max_connections=300
    interactive_timeout=80
    wait_timeout=600
    connect_timeout=30
    key_buffer=1024M
    join_buffer=2048M
    join_buffer_size=724M
    max_allowed_packet=512M
    table_cache=8592
    sort_buffer=64M
    record_buffer=64M
    thread_cache_size=64
    max_user_connections=100
    thread_concurrency=8
    myisam_sort_buffer_size=256M
    max_heap_table_size=512M
    tmp_table_size=1024M
    table_definition_cache=256M
    innodb_buffer_pool_size=782M
    query_cache_limit=312M
    query_cache_size=312M
    query_cache_type=1


    How can i quickly and properly update my new server to have same values. Is it ok and safe to copy most important ones to new server my.cnf file?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. nobodyk

    nobodyk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    First of all, your old my.cnf has ridiculously high values! those values are insane!

    I suggest you run mysqltuner.pl and reconfigure those values...

    http://mysqltuner.pl/mysqltuner.pl
     
  3. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Yes, the tunner recommended me these values. I have more sites and some has 1Gb+ databases.. If you have any exact suggestion on values, pls write them? But i would like to ask my primary question, if i can just copy them to new my.cnf, if its good idea.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. gnutoolbox

    gnutoolbox Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    How much RAM do you have on your new server?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Thank you, I have 24GB on my new server.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice