The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

eth looses all IPs

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nsz, Sep 25, 2004.

  1. nsz

    nsz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello all,

    I had a strange problem today. Not sure if any of you have seen this before or not.

    Everything on my server was unresponsive, except SSH. Web, email, everything. After trying to usual restart services, checking logs, I ran ifconfig and noticed all my IPs were MISSING! I have around 15 IPs added to eth1.

    In WHM it listed all my IPs but in RED. So I have to copy IP, click remove, and re-add the IP to the interface.

    Any run into this before? Happened out of nowhere.

    Thanks for any suggestions/comments.
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I've seen that hapen if you restart the network interface /etc/init.d/network restart. I just rebooted to restart the network correctly since I only had remote access.
     
  3. Josh200784

    Josh200784 Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Guys,

    Sorry to dig up an old thread but I experienced this recently with a few servers and wondering is there a way to correct this without rebooting the server?

    I have fixed the issue myself by doing this but if its not necessary and can get things online without a restart that would be great.

    Any suggestions would be appreciated.

    Cheers,
    Josh.
     
  4. closet geek

    closet geek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    To restore your IP addresses to an active state after a network restart run this:

    /etc/init.d/ipaliases restart

    Thanks.
     
  5. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you know the set of circumstances that caused the loss of the IP Aliases? or, what were you, or your admins, doing in WHM just before the IP Aliases were lost?
     
  6. wiszmaster

    wiszmaster Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Kenny,

    I just had the same happen. I restarted the network & it dropped all IP's other than the main assigned.
    #/etc/init.d/ipaliases restart
    fixed it for me, but I did sweat for a minute.

    (cPanel 11.24.4-R35075 - WHM 11.24.2 - X 3.9)

    Thanks,

    marco
     
  7. Vliegtuig

    Vliegtuig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I hate to revive an old thread, but I am experiencing similiar issues.

    Since the last 3 weeks, our server had this problem twice now. In my case, the entire network driver seems to crash (without errors).

    /var/log/messages and dmesg show nothing odd. The network simply fails and only works after I restart the network service.

    Iptables does not block anything and incoming and outgoing packets are not possible until I issue a restart.

    I described the problem in more detail on ServerFault: Linux networking crash: best steps to find out the cause? - Server Fault
     
  8. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What is your cPanel & WHM version?
     
  9. Vliegtuig

    Vliegtuig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    My version is 11.28.52
     
  10. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The reent causes may have been due to a bug introduced during the 11.28 development cycle where ipaliases would be started during upcp. On some systems this would cause all the virtual adapters to go down. This was addressed in case 45014, which is included in version 11.28.51.

    If that was indeed the cause of your problem, it should no longer occur.
     
  11. Vliegtuig

    Vliegtuig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for the info, this could very likely be the problem as this only happened since 3 weeks or so. I'll keep a close eye on it.
     
  12. Vliegtuig

    Vliegtuig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Now that I think of it, I wonder if this could actually be the cause.

    Upcp does not run at 20:13 for me.
     
Loading...

Share This Page