The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Excessive resource usage: (14959 (Parent PID:14880)) ????

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Karl1, Mar 13, 2013.

  1. Karl1

    Karl1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi
    I got this message from my server with:
    Time: Tue Mar 12 13:15:39 2013 +0100
    Account: accountname
    Resource: Process Time
    Exceeded: 1212909 > 1800 (seconds)
    Executable: /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/perl/514/bin/perl
    Command Line: cpanellogd - http logs for accountname
    PID: 14959 (Parent PID:14880)
    Killed: No

    The strange is, that the account mentioned is not even used, I mean, I just created the account to host one domain that I use for one email inbox only that is using google apps, no A record defined for it.

    Does anyone have any idea on this?

    Thnak you
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  3. Kurieuo

    Kurieuo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Australia
    I upgraded cPanel, and started receiving these alerts for many accounts.

    And I don't just want to ignore it -- considering this wasn't an issue previously. I'd much prefer to fix, rather than have cpanellogd use unnecessary server resources.

    Is cPanel doing something different now that makes these processes run longer? Should I be concerned that all accounts on the server now seem to be using excessive resource usages according to lfd?

    Thanks, Kurieuo
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    The path has changed on those scripts. That's the difference. You'll need to edit your csf.pignore file and remove the old entries not needed, add the new ones ConfigServer did not add for you on CSF updates.

    You really should read up on this topic though, this is an important piece of software you need to know well. IMHO.


    GL!
     
  5. Kurieuo

    Kurieuo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks Infopro.

    Now I understand that's the difference much less concerned. Just didn't know it ran like it did -- the time...

    Time to do some tweaking...
     
  6. montego95

    montego95 Registered

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry if this is a newbie dumb question, but does adding this line have any other potential security risks? While I'd love to stop these false positive emails, I don't want to open up my server to additional security risks (a bit paranoid).
     
  7. Veeble-Adam

    Veeble-Adam Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The only security risk involved is that you will not get alerts even if the processes are causing any problems. Adding the processes in csf.pignore alone, will not make your server vulnerable.

    Just make sure that you know what you are doing. :)
     
  8. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Please open a ticket using the link in my signature. Its likely something is corrupt with the log configuration which is causing cpanellogd to hang when processing its logs.

    If you post the ticket # here, I'll take a peek as well.
     
Loading...

Share This Page