Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Excessive resource usage after upgrade to easyApache4

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by asajay, Jul 30, 2017.

  1. asajay

    asajay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Today I updated easyApache from 3 to 4. Later, I began to get emails like this, from lfd:

    Time: Sun Jul 30 17:35:04 2017 -0700
    Account: teampantera
    Resource: Virtual Memory Size
    Exceeded: 315 > 256 (MB)
    Executable: /opt/cpanel/ea-php56/root/usr/bin/php-cgi
    Command Line: /opt/cpanel/ea-php56/root/usr/bin/php-cgi /home/mydomain/public_html/index.php
    PID: 30139 (Parent PID:27309)
    Killed: No

    When I look for the PID, it's not there, though the parent is still running.

    I've read through what I can in other threads. I don't wish to ignore this, and I have to wonder why I never saw it with easyApache3, but suddenly do now with easyApache4.

    Without getting into a lot of server details, let me ask what might be the simplest question first.

    The resource limit appears to be set to 256MB. In all the emails I've received on this, the "Exceeded" value has never been higher than 320. So here is the question:

    Is there a resource limit difference between what easyApache3 used, versus what easyApache 4 used?

    I'm guessing there is, since nothing else changed on my server except upgrading to easyApache4. Therefore, it seems logical that increasing the warning limit in lfd to something like 340 might solve the issue.

    What do you think?
    Asa Jay
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,659
    Likes Received:
    1,428
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. asajay

    asajay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Increasing the memory limit solved the problem. So yes, apparently easyApache4 uses a bit more memory for that process.

    Asa
     
Loading...

Share This Page