The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Excluded YUM updates

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by akust0m, Feb 24, 2016.

  1. akust0m

    akust0m Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Melbourne
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Coming from using Plesk for several years, I have to say that I find this very strange.

    Why does cPanel exclude so many applications from yum updates?

    Do these applications receive updates via another cPanel process?

    Is there a way to install applications via yum that would be matched by the exclude list but without actually removing the item from the exclude list in /etc/yum.conf?

    Chris
     
  2. akust0m

    akust0m Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Melbourne
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I found the section in WHM (Server Configuration > Update Preferences), I assume the "Operating System Package Updates" mean the OS plus other applications such as Apache, PHP etc..?

    I found out the way to install via yum and bypass the excludes:
    Code:
    yum install httpd-tools --disableexcludes=all
     
  3. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In general if we are excluding a package, it's because we already provide it. Or we provide an equivalent.
     
  4. syslint

    syslint Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Don't install this package. This is your os provided package . But cpanel have its own apache and php . If you are using easyapache 3 please try to use the script /scripts/easyapache to compile apache and php or else you can use the whmcs interface too. Things are different in cpanel compared to plesk.
     
  5. akust0m

    akust0m Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Melbourne
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you for the replies.

    So Apache and PHP don't get installed from the OS repository but from a cPanel repository?

    I wanted to download and use the Apache Benchmark tool which is included in the package "httpd-tools". What would be the best way to install this compared to how I did it above? I don't see an option to add it in EasyApache.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page