Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Exim Configuration Editor error

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Domenico, Jul 24, 2003.

  1. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,486
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    158
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Use the exim config editor. :)


    The latest one (in edge) supports full text edit of the ACL section.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Cool, this is real nice move nick. Just checked the exim config editor on a box of mine where i have edge running.

    Now is it possible that we can go further in this ?? We even have re written retry rules, changed auto thaw, max delivery loads etc for exim (we handle huge amounts of mails everyday on our servers). Some of these have default values in exim.conf and even if we use the exim config editor, we can't replace/edit them.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    There should be a way you can edit the entire exim.conf excluding the boxes, like a text editor. Why cant you allow us to edit the whole file without giving us little boxes to place our changes into? For eg i would need a box after;

    domainlist local_domains = lsearch;/etc/localdomains

    domainlist relay_domains = lsearch;/etc/localdomains : \
    lsearch;/etc/secondarymx
    hostlist relay_hosts = lsearch;/etc/relayhosts : \
    localhost
    hostlist auth_relay_hosts = *

    <RIGHT HERE>

    Then i need to replace everthing starting at;

    begin acl

    down to

    begin authenticators

    Replace completely not just insert between things.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Did you try the edge build ?? It allows you lot more modifications possible. A complete editor would be great though i don't know how nick will make it possible with his own settings... :(

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    sexyguy: btw wat changes you doing ?? just curious incase you don't mind.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I already posted that in the forums a week or so ago. Didnt even get a thank you from one person. Not that i expected it but it does fix alot of annoying things. Search the forum for my Exim ACL changes.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    sexy_guy, i would have loved to see the thread url instead of searching it. Anyways is this what you were refering to ??

    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=13559

    I like wat you have done in this, checking for the user/domain before accepting mail for them.

    Is there something you can work for quota ?? I mean if the users quota is full don't accept the mail just bounce it. Any help would be appreciated.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    can i see more of your exim customisations ?? It would be great help for me to customise my cpanel box even further.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Yep thanks. The quota problem has not been solved and i would love Nick to find a solution to that as well. See my problem. Trying to add this to the exim.conf in WHM does not work because i cannot place this were i want or better yet i cannot replace everthing that in there completely. So im stuck having to modify all exim.conf on everyone of my boxes manually everytime there is an update.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I can understand your problem.

    Nick please find a solution to the quota problem as well as exim configuration changes. It really is a problem to update exim everytime with our custom changes and then get them overwritten in the next update.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. amal

    amal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Problem with changing exim ips in exim config editor....

    Hi,

    I'm also having a different problem with exim config editor. I'm not able to add the line -

    interface=ip

    in TRANSPORTS CONFIGURATION section... Normally, I add it below the line -

    remote_smtp:
    driver = smtp

    under the TRANSPORTS configuration and it works fine.... But in the exim config editor, it gives an error.. :-(

    Any ideas??

    Thanks in advance.. :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice