The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Exim host lookup

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mickalo, Mar 7, 2007.

  1. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    Hello,

    I've been trying to figure out why exim fails when we send an email, from our server, to one of our clients, in the exim_mainlog is as follows:
    Code:
    XXXXXX@localhelpwanted.net R=lookuphost defer (-1): host lookup did not complete
    
    but if I send it from my ISP email address, frontiernet.net, the same identical email is delievered with no problems. Is there something in Exim conf that does this, or do we need to add to a "whitelist" ... or what else can be done to eliminate this type of error ?

    Thx's
    Mickalo

    Update. Found the problem on our server, our Firewall was blocking the IP range assigned to that domain, once it was removed, everything works fine now.
     
    #1 mickalo, Mar 7, 2007
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2007
  2. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Glad you got it figured out...

    I was going to suggest trying a connection via ssh

    exim -bt email@address.com

    If theres no mx records listed then theres a routing problem and
    obviously there was with it being blocked.
     
  3. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    Yea, it was the firewall blocking their IP.

    appreciate the feedback.

    Mickalo
     
  4. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    No problem.. Also look up the tool called MTR. Basically its a ping and traceroute utility combined. Excellent for situations like this and very powerful.

    http://www.bitwizard.nl/mtr/
     
  5. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    is this MTR something that's strickly used from the shell command line ?

    Mickalo
     
  6. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Yes, but like anything else you can write a script and call it from the web.
     
  7. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    would you happen to know what the command line options are. was looking at the site and not much documentation found on this. Or do you know where the docs info is on this?

    Thx's

    Mickalo
     
Loading...

Share This Page