Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SOLVED Exim how to override default dkim_selector

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by Gino Viroli, May 27, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Gino Viroli

    Gino Viroli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    58
    My domain is sending mails from two different VPS, cPanel/WHM is installed on both VPS.

    The domain is also using a third party DNS, (not cPanel/WHM DNS)

    I want to enable DKIM for outgoing mail authentication on both VPS, hence I went on both cPanel/WHM and turned on "Email > Authentication > DKIM" on both.

    Both cPanel asked me to add to the DNS of my domain the following record:

    default._domainkey.mydomain.com IN TXT "v=DKIM1; k=rsa; p=...

    The problem is that obviously the two private/public key created on the two VPS by cPanel are different, but the DNS record to add to mydomain.com comes with the same name "default._domainkey"

    Is there a way to tell cPanel (or at least Exim) to use a different DNS record for DKIM?
    In this way I could set:
    - VPS1 to send outgoing mail dkim signed that tells the recipient to look at the DNS record "myselector1._domainkey" instead of "default._domainkey"
    - VPS2 to send outgoing mail dkim signed that tells the recipient to look at the DNS record "myselector2._domainkey" instead of "default._domainkey"
    - Add to my domain's DNS both records:
    myselector1._domainkey.mydomain.com IN TXT "v=DKIM1; k=rsa; p=somepublickey1...
    myselector2._domainkey.mydomain.com IN TXT "v=DKIM1; k=rsa; p=somepublickey2...


    Can I simply change dkim_selector in one of my VPS at "WHM > Service Configuration > Exim Configuration Manager > Advanced Editor"?

    BTW: there is also a feature request for this: DKIM support for custom selector
     
  2. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    3,101
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    173
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello,

    What might be easiest to do is have cPanel generate the DKIM with the default selector on one server, then transfer the private + public keys to the other server which are located at:
    Code:
    /var/cpanel/domain_keys/private/
    /var/cpanel/domain_keys/public/
    cPanel won't automatically generate any DKIM with a different selector if this is something you need I would suggest voting on the request.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Gino Viroli likes this.
  3. Gino Viroli

    Gino Viroli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Ok, this works, thanks!
     
  4. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    3,101
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    173
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Glad to hear it! Please let us know if you have any further issues!

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. tui

    tui Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Mexico
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is there any other way to achieve this? Im on the same situation but i only have root access only to one cpanel server, the other server is just a relay service (but its also cpanel and i have cpanel access) so i cannot transfer keys from/to one server to another as this post suggest
     
  6. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    3,101
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    173
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @tui

    Not with the access level you have because the private key needs to be stored. You may be able to reach out to your provider to get help with this.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice