The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

exim mx problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sosoalex, Jun 1, 2003.

  1. sosoalex

    sosoalex Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i have a domain on the server that its mx record is pointed to another machine on the internet


    today when i try to send mail from the server ... its not deliverd i check the error log and found this

    2003-06-01 13:33:46 19MXeL-0007yl-00 <= me@mydomain.com H=(machine) [62.114.193.107] P=smtp S=1322 id=006901c3286c$4273a500$6bc1723e@machine
    2003-06-01 13:33:46 19MXeL-0007yl-00 lowest numbered MX record points to local host: mxhost.com
    2003-06-01 13:33:46 19MXeL-0007yl-00 == webmaster@mxdomain.com R=lookuphost defer (-1): lowest numbered MX record points to local host
    2003-06-01 13:33:46 19MXeL-0007yl-00 Frozen


    i check the mx record in the dns record... and found it under periorty 0 i make it 10 but the same problem...

    i try Visual Mail Troubleshooter in the whm it give me has lowest mx ......


    i have alot of domains on this server there mx pointed to another the same server and they are working...


    i try restart exim and bind....... nothing happen



    mails send from out of the server are reaching the right server coz its query the dns and got the mx record...




    anyone can help

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    same issue here

    I have the same issue - have you found a solution by any chance yet ?


    thanks

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: AHHHHHHHHHHHH why me ---
     
  3. edesignway

    edesignway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I had this problem on a domain and this is what I did to fix it..

    Open /etc/localdomains in your file editor.
    Locate the domain name in question (Chances are you won't find it)
    Add the domain to this file
    Save the file

    Now try and send mail and everything should work fine.


    Regards,
    Timothy Sheehan
    sheehan@edesignway.com

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    well maybe . . .

    My issue was this -

    Had the site domain.com on Server A
    Moved it to Server B

    Server A still thought it had the lowest MX record -
    even after I deleted everything from the /etc/localdomains
    and a few other files as well


    I paid a guy @ the datacenter a few extra dollars to take a baseball bat to the server -
    The server I had was located in Rackshacks Headend -
    They had the issue - not my server :-(

    Their techs were good enough to fix it -
    after the ticket was open for 48 hrs +

    In any event - check with your supplier - they may be part of the problem -

    Funny - all the servers I have @ DedicatedNow.com and also with He.net never once ran into this .. .

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: Rackshacks Issue . . .
     
  5. WebKingPin

    WebKingPin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks a billion for this one. I was bangin my fricken head for HOURS wondering why just one domain was screwed up. I tried everything never even thought that could be a possibility. Cpanel support was no damn help.

    Thanks again bro,

    WebKingPin
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Make sure that you add the domain to /etc/remotedomains (create that file if necessary) otherwise it will be readded to /etc/localdomains.
     
  7. muugii

    muugii Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks

    Thankyou so much, it solved my problem.

    Thanks again ,

    Muugii
     
Loading...

Share This Page