The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

exim problems again

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by anand, Aug 30, 2003.

  1. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Facing some serious probs with exim.

    1. Exim accepts mails without checking mail attachments which are banned in the system filter and then once the check happens, sets a bounce back for that mail. Unfortunately those mails are spams / virus mails so they get stuck in the mail queue for hrs without any delivery.

    Is there a way to check for attachments like pif etc during the mail accepting process ??

    2. Even though the exim editor exists certain values exist which needs to be changed by the editor doesn't allow that. Moreover the biggest irony is that even after using chattr +i, every day i find all my servers exim.conf replaced by default exim.conf. Well nick can we please have some solution to this ?? We need more editing inside the exim.conf. To give an example:

    deliver_queue_load_max = 3
    auto_thaw = 1h

    Now i don't use the normal auto_thaw and deliver_queue_load_max values. I need to change them for my servers, but ...

    Similarly:
    ignore_bounce_errors_after = 2d
    timeout_frozen_after = 7d

    The above two values need to be changed, but exim editor doesn't allow this. There are other changes also which i need to do.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    forgot to add this in earlier post

    I want to reject mails from certain domains and/ or email ids. Is there a way ?? I will explain this. Lets says i don't want to accept mails from someone@yahoo.com or from entire domain yahoo.com, how to achieve this.

    RBL Checks: Well the RBL checks have been discussed lot of times, now this is an actual problem i am facing on a single box. The customers use the server's smtp to relay mails. Their isps are listed in RBL lists so whenever they try to authenticate with their username and passwords they get rejected with an error mesage statting that their ISP is banned. Now ideally we should allow mails to be send from the smtp server even though their isps are banned. This will allow legitimate users atleast use the smtp. However it sill leaves a hole where the user itself is a spammer, however i am ready to take just a risk.

    P.S. The actual email id and domains are different, i don't want to actually stop yahoo's mail ;)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    anyone ???

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. pleighly

    pleighly Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: Who the hell is root

    YOU ARE !!!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Re: Re: Who the hell is root

    is that suppose to be funny ??? k i m laughing, now get over with it.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. Silverado

    Silverado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Backyard - Poolside
  7. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  8. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    the stuff there is nice, but can't implement it as it can't be done using exim editor. If i do it manually, upcp will replace my exim.conf with its own default like it does everyday :(
     
    #8 anand, Sep 1, 2003
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2003
  9. Silverado

    Silverado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Backyard - Poolside
    Well not if you will set your update preferences correct. I set all mine to manual.
    BTW...... I haven't had to remodify my /exim.conf in a long time.
    Also...... it's just as easy to do it in shell and you can chatter it.
    I personally have just done this so often I can just copy and paste my codes..... and upload my files for blocked domains.
    It's only difficult if you make it difficult.
    You wanted a fix........ there it is.
    Really easy to set up I promise.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I don't disagree that its not easy to setup / make changes to exim in shell. Infact i do all my work from there only. Just recently i stopped as i found every day my exim.conf being replaced by the upcp script.

    Will try to setup the upcp to manual now, and forget auto update, i guess thats the only way left now.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. Silverado

    Silverado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Backyard - Poolside
    It's the best way to do it.
    This way you only have to change it every time cPanel comes out with a new stable version.
    Once you do it a few times it will only take a few minutes per server.
    I just save all the codes I add and then paste them in the exim.conf
    It works great! You'll love it.
    Great thread by aussie

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page