The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

exim queue fulling up

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by prixone, Sep 30, 2005.

  1. prixone

    prixone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    i have one question about the option in Main >> Service Configuration >> Exim Configuration Editor:

    if i mark the option:
    Discard emails for users who have exceeded their quota instead of keeping them in the queue.


    What going to happen ? can some one explain a little better what happen without it marked and with it marked please ?


    [ just some adds ] but i didnt test it , i want to hear what happen first.
    1. the user with mailbox full will not receive it and my server will delete it and send a message to the sender telling the mailbox if full ?

    2. the user with mailbox full will not receive it and my server will delete it without warns ?

    3. it will keep in the queue in order to delivery to the user with mailbox full when space is free ?

    note: i am using this set of configuration http://www.rvskin.com/index.php?page=public/antispam

    and my users with mailbox full get their new emails as queue to delivery.

    thx in advance.
     
    #1 prixone, Sep 30, 2005
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2005
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    If you enable that option that then any emails that arrive when the mailbox is full will be disgarded and the recipient will receive a bounce error.

    Also, for queuing issues, make sure that none of the domain in /etc/valiases/* is using :blackhole: and if they are change them to :fail:
     
  3. prixone

    prixone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    mmm i were looking in that path manually just for checking and i found for example:

    domain1.com

    so i did cat domain1.com and it showed
    *: domain1

    then i did the same with domain2.com and it showed:
    *: :fail: No Such User Here

    are both right or domain 1 is wrong ?

    when i installed your dictionary i did use the comand to switch from black to fail.

    thx :D
     
  4. Zaf

    Zaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The second one is fine, but dont think the first one is. Infact it is pointing to the "account name" for domain1. It is recommended you change that to ':fail: No Such User Here' as well
     
  5. prixone

    prixone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    well its working fine domain 1 ...

    would i get any problem if i just switch for fail ?

    or its better leave how it is.
     
Loading...

Share This Page