Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Express Transfer - How does it work? Documentation?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kofi, Mar 15, 2009.

  1. kofi

    kofi Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    We have started using the express transfer facility recently, however still not sure 100% how it works. Maybe cPanel can explain step by step how it works, or provide some documentation?

    I know that it copies all data from the old to new server, changes DNS records, and disables the site on the old server using .htaccess - but other than that I don't know anymore. Such as whether it copies files across the network first, and then DBs so as to ensure minimal downtime, etc.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. jfall123

    jfall123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    158
    It seems to do it at the very end. It copies all the files/creates the accounts etc. then modifies the zone on the source server and points the records to the new IPs.

    I used it a lot this weekend, one problem I found with it is that it doesn't seem to point the zones of parked/addon domains to the new IPs. It only appears to work with the master domain, has anyone else noticed this?
     
  3. ffeingol

    ffeingol Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    318
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    We have also noticed that it does not do parked/add-on domains. We wanted to know if this was a bug (we think it is) or a feature.
     
  4. kofi

    kofi Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Yep, we noticed this to - I'd say this is a bug more than anything, but maybe cPanel themselves can comment on this?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. ffeingol

    ffeingol Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    318
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I added a bug to bugzilla earlier today
     
  6. noimad1

    noimad1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Do you have your bugzilla link so I can check the status? I couldn't find it when I searched over there....

    Thanks,
    Damion
     
  7. ffeingol

    ffeingol Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    318
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice