The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

External domain and local mailserver with cPanel

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by marcju11, Jun 11, 2013.

  1. marcju11

    marcju11 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I have an external domain that I cannot control except for the the MX records and I have a server with cPanel/whm. I would like to create an email address with this domain on my cPanel/whm server. I think I have to create an MX record pointing to my cPanel/whm server. However... how I configure cPanel/whm with this external domain ?

    Thank you.
     
    #1 marcju11, Jun 11, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2013
  2. ThinIce

    ThinIce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Disillusioned in England
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is easy enough - you can simply create the account for the domain on your cPanel server if you are going to be pointing the MX record at your system. Note that you'll need to also create dns records for things like spf, dkim, autoconfig etc on the remote dns system if you want to use them
     
  3. marcju11

    marcju11 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I thought WHM was checking that the DNS of the domain was pointing to the cPanel Server. If not.. it's indeed easy. However, what's an autoconfig record ?

    Thank you.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Yes, you can simply create the account on the cPanel server like you normally would. The domain name does not have to point to the cPanel server unless it's a parked or addon domain name. In those cases, you can temporarily disable the following option under the "Domains" tab in Tweak Settings:

    "Allow Remote Domains"

    The "autoconfig" and "autodiscover" records are not required. You can see their purpose at:

    cPanel - Autodiscover

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page