The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Extremely high SWAP and RAM usage

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tylrs, Aug 6, 2014.

  1. tylrs

    tylrs Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm hoping someone can help me with an issue I have been having recently.

    I have a 2GB Linode VPS running the latest release of WHM/cPanel. I recently upgraded from a 1GB VPS to 2GB RAM VPS since I was having these same issues before. However, upgrading doesn't seem to have solved the issue.

    What happens is that the server will fill 100% Swap within about 3 hours of being rebooted. And now, memory is being close to 100% consumed as well. I've attached server info and status pages from cPanel interface. Is this anything to worry about? Before I upgraded to 2GB VPS, my RAM usage was roughly 40% consumed at any given time, its just skyrocketed within the past day or so. Rebooting the server helps for a short while, but not permanently.

    Any ideas?


    More info:

    There are 38 sites on the server, with several parked domains as well. About 15 of them are running WordPress, and the others are either just used for email or are static websites.

    Running MySQL, latest version. Also, both Apache and Nginx using the NginxCP.com plugin. I reconfigured my Apache settings by following what serverconfig.io recommends when I upgraded to 2GB VPS. Most everything else should be stock WHM defaults.

    Last night, I did enable Mod_Ruid2 in EasyApache, however I though this was supposed to improve performance on the website end and increase security, not cause a system to use so many more resources.

    Also recently installed a few ConfigServer.com scripts, to manage email, spam and firewall. But it was running fairly well for a while after those were installed.
     
    #1 tylrs, Aug 6, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 6, 2014
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    The following thread is a good place to start when troubleshooting load/memory issues:

    Troubleshooting High Loads On Linux Systems

    Note that you should attach images directly to this thread instead of linking to a third-party image hosting website.

    Thank you.
     
  3. iserversupport

    iserversupport Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Memory usage depends on many factors

    Run top command and sort the process by memory to find what is the exact reason
     
Loading...

Share This Page