Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Failed cPanel login because of a faulty php configuration file?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by earthrat, Oct 16, 2018.

  1. earthrat

    earthrat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Bend, OR
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I just had an issue with a website that was not loading and returned an internal server error. Not that this was uncommon but when I then tried to log into the account cPanel it refused and returned the same error. Tried on multiple browsers, deleted the cache (all the usual suspects) and no luck.

    I reached out to my host and had them look into it. They concluded there was a code issue on the site which I found odd it suddenly happened since nothing had changed for this site in the last two years and it was running fine. When I asked why I could not even get into cPanel they proceeded to tell me it was due to the PHP configuration file and said an out of date PHP configuration file can cause a lot of strange errors.

    I found their conclusion totally bogus and full of holes but if they are right I am concerned that a PHP file in the home directory of the website would cause the account cPanel to lock up and fail to load.

    Some additional information for you to help me conclude this was in fact the case is I was able to get into the cPanel account by way of WHM but when I tried to get to the database it locked up. I was not able to get into the database with PHPmyAdmin, nor was I able to download the database using SSH. Every attempt to get to the database was halted by an unpassable failure. This just compounds my suspicion that there is something else amis here and their conclusion that all of this is somehow the fault of an out of data PHP configuration file. Can you confirm their determination is in fact true and if so why is cPanel dependant on files and configurations in the public_html directory? I find this very disturbing and making me question if cPanel is stable enough to rely on!
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,877
    Likes Received:
    482
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Which configuration file is it they're talking about, did they say? And if it is this as they suggest, does updating it solve the issue? I assume it's now updated yes?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. earthrat

    earthrat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Bend, OR
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The php.ini file is the only server file on the site and it is the same exact file that a few hundred other sites on the same server are using without issue. Likewise why is it that this site has been running perfectly fine for the last two years with no issue and in fact I was just in it a few weeks ago doing a simple page update and again no issue. Out of the blue the server started sending some 500 alerts an hour to me saying there was a resource issue and the site would not load. Again, how does accessing cPanel have ANYTHING to do with the pubic directory of the website? In all my years hosting sites I have never had a website file (php.ini or otherwise) that prevented me from getting to the accounts cPanel. Apparently my choice to use cPanels new PHP utilities is not as good of an option as I thought and I should move back to using CloudLinux. It begs to question if your new PHP Manager and PHPINI Manager was actually tested enough to be allowed to go mainstream if this is the case? Sorry but I find it very disturbing that a problem with a public accessible files can prevent me from accessing the cPanel account.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,877
    Likes Received:
    482
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Have you considered opening a ticket to cPanel Technical Support about this? I suggest you do, they can take a closer look at your system for you and should be able to figure this issue out. Feel free to link to this thread with your existing comments.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. earthrat

    earthrat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Bend, OR
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks, they will do this even though I am not directly licensed through cPanel but rather my license is with a server host?
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,877
    Likes Received:
    482
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes of course. cPanel stands firmly behind the product. You should be able to open a ticket directly from within your WebHost Manager, here:
    WebHost Manager »Support »Create Support Ticket

    To use that option, you'll probably want to create an account first, here:
    cPanel Customer Portal

    Please keep us updated with this. If you don't mind, post the ticket ID back to this thread.

    Thanks.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. earthrat

    earthrat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Bend, OR
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Speaking of opening a ticket through WHM, I have tried that and it tells me I am not authorised and likewise I tried to setup the cPanel store for my clients and there to I was told I do not have proper authorisation. Which the later I found odd that I would not be able to offer this value add since it directly supports cPanel. I will go ahead and get my info together and open a ticket and see if we can get to the source of this issue. Thanks for the awesome support!
     
    Infopro likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice